Debug: SELECT * FROM PitSide_PR WHERE SiteID = 3 AND ID = 1075;
Grandview Press Releases

Celebrating our 53rd Year of Professional Auto Racing


| Home | | News | | Points| | Schedule | | Results | | |Photos | | Rule Book |
Press Release
Monday, February 28, 2011

BECHTELSVILLE, PA  When Duane Howard had his outstanding season at Grandview Speedway in 2010 topping it off by winning the NASCAR Whelen All American Series 358 Modified championship the rewards were huge for the veteran Oley, PA racer.
 The four time Grandview champion picked up $10,000 for him and car owner Chad Sinon for winning the track title and there was additional money from NASCAR. Howard picked up $5,000 for finishing third in the NASCAR Whelen All American Series National Championship and received championship treatment at the NASCAR awards banquet at the new NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte.
 Another $10,000 went to Howard for winning the inaugural American Racer East Coast Modified Cup topping drivers from more than a dozen different speedways.
 Of course Howard won eight features at Grandview during the 2010 season and that included $10,000 for his first win in the Forrest Rogers Memorial. There was at least $2,200 for the victories in each of the other seven features. His second place effort in the BPG Racing Freedom 76 gave him another $10,000.
 The Grandview Speedway NASCAR Whelen All American Series 358 Modified champion will reap similar awards in 2011. Duane Howard will be shooting for a fifth title and second in a row. Competition will be keen with eight time champion Jeff Strunk and six time champion Craig VonDohren battling to add to their championship resumes.
 Again this year the American Racer East Coast Modified Cup will offer the top point earner at least $10,000. Each individual track involved in the Cup point chase will have 10 American Racer tires going to their champion, six tires for second,  four tires for third, two for fourth and one tire for fifth in the points. There will be other perks offered to participants.
 Full details on the American Racer Cup are available at
 New for Grandview Speedway NASCAR 358-Modified teams this year is the VP Racing Fuels contingency program that will award $250 fuel gift certificates to the top finish car on VP gasoline in the 49th annual season opener on April 2nd, the 40-lap championship on April 9th, the Forrest Rogers Memorial presented by Pioneer Pole Buildings on August 13th and the BPG Racing Freedom 76 on September 17th. The team placing highest in the final Modified standings using VP gasoline will receive a $500 fuel certificate. All participants in the VP Racing Fuels contingency program must carry VP decals and show proof of purchase.
 The NASCAR Late Models will be racing for their own lucrative point fund money from the track and from NASCAR.
 Salvage Transport, owned and operated by former Late Model racer Jeff Teets is posting a cash award for the Hard Charger with the Late Models each Saturday starting in May.
 The 2011 season, the 49th consecutive, gets the green flag with the annual Free-To-The-Public Practice Session on Saturday, March 26th at noon. The practice is open to all divisions of competition. It is also a great time for season pass holders to pick their reserved seat for the new season.
 Officially the season gets started on Saturday, April 2nd at 7 p.m. with the NASCAR 358 Modifieds and Late Models in action.
 And on Sunday, April 3rd, at noon the Slingshot racers will be in action followed by NEETS Enduro racing.
 Grandview Speedway is located at 43 Passmore Road in Bechtelsville, PA, just off Route 100, 10 miles north of Pottstown. For race information check in at or telephone 610.754.7688.
 To learn about marketing opportunities (billboards, race sponsorships and track magazine advertising) contact Ernie Saxton at 215.752.7797 or email him at
MEDIA NOTE: Time is running our for those who are planning to be regulars covering events at Grandview to obtain a season media pass. Email me at If you are not planning to be a regular at Grandview we can arrange for credentials for individual events prior to each race. Thank you for your support. Ernie Saxton