Debug: SELECT * FROM PitSide_PR WHERE SiteID = 3 AND ID = 1547;
Grandview Press Releases

Celebrating our 53rd Year of Professional Auto Racing


| Home | | News | | Points| | Schedule | | Results | | |Photos | | Rule Book |
Press Release
Sunday, May 13, 2012

BECHTELSVILLE, PA† Four feature races produced four first time winners in the Whelen Engineering NASCAR sanctioned stock car racing events at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night.
Doug Manmiller and Meme DeSantis won the 30-lap NASCAR 358 Modified features while Lou Egrie Sr. took top honors in the 20-lap Late Model feature and Craig Whitmoyer was tops in the 25-lapper for Sportsman.
Brad Missimer went to the front in the first 30-lap Modified feature of the evening and held the top spot until two thirds of the feature had been completed. The 21st lap had several cautions that eliminated a few cars from competition and at the 22nd lap marker Doug Manmiller, coming from 13th starting spot, put the GMI First Solutions No. 46 in front of the pack.
Manmiller, who calls Shoemakersville home, held off the late race challenge of three feature winner Duane Howard (Oley) to grab the victory by a narrow margin in the Mobil 1 sponsored feature that had been rained out on May 5. Second spot went to Howard followed by Jeff Strunk (Pottstown), Craig VonDohren (Boyertown) and Brad Missimer (Bechtelsville).
In the 20-lap Late Model veteran Bill Henning led more than half of the event before Mark Minotto spun in the first turn, with 12 laps completed, and Henning was unable to avoid him just nipping the Minotto racer. The contact sent a disappointed Henning to the pits and gave the lead to Lou Egrie Sr. The balance of the feature race had Egrie (Huntington Valley) holding off the strong challenges of Danny Snyder to gain his first feature win since 2004. Snyder (Green Lane) took second followed by point leader Chuck Schutz (Pottstown), Dallas Redenbacher (Spring City) and Jason Miller (New Tripoli).
The second 30-lapper for the night for the NASCAR 358 Modifieds had Jarrad Miller going to the front at the start. After just two laps Craig VonDohren and Doug Manmiller tangled in Turn 2 with VonDohren eliminated from competition. Addison Meitzler took the lead on the restart and looked like he was on his way to victory with his self owned No. 21.
With just one lap remaining a tire problem forced Meitzler to come to a stop bringing out a caution giving the lead to Meme DeSantis. The final lap had DeSantis (Temple), at the wheel of the NOSTEROIDS.ORG/Kutztown Auto Co. No. 88D, leading the way to the checkered flag and picking up his first win at the Berks County oval this season. Jarrad Miller (Barto) came home second. Kevin Hirthler (Boyertown), followed by Mike Gular (Green Lane) and Cliff Quinn (Coopersburg).
Tricky track conditions produced a 25-lap Sportsman feature that had numerous cautions. John Kovatch IV set the pace in the early laps with Joe Funk charging to the front on the 7th circuit of the one-third-mile, banked clay oval. A multi-car accident at the 14 lap marker closed the field up behind Funk with Brad Brightbill putting heavy pressure on.
In the closing laps Funk and challenger Brightbill made contact in turn two and costing both drivers the opportunity for a victory as Craig Whitmoyer (Hamburg) took over the lead on the final lap and went on to win his first feature of the season. Second spot went to Mike Lisowski (Minersville) followed by Dave Dissinger (Hamburg), John Kovatch IV and Kevin Beach (Minersville).
Victories in the two eight lap qualifying events for the Late Models went to Danny Snyder and Bill Henning. Sportsman eight lap qualifiers were won by Erik Renninger, John Kovatch IV and Corey Sechrist. And in the NASCAR 358 Modified 12 lap qualifying events wins were earned by Jeff Strunk, Duane Howard, Addison Meitzler and Brad Missimer. The Modified consolations, each 10 laps, were won by Shawn Reimert and Jordan Umbenhauer.
The Bobby Gunther Walsh and Sponsors Hard Charger Awards for the Modifieds went to Shawn Reimert, gaining 15 positions in the first 30-lapper, and Chad Brachman in the second 30 lapper, going from 26th to 10th. The Salvage Transport Hard Charger Award for Late Models went to Ron Chrisman who gained 6 spots in the feature race. Kevin Beach earned the Searockís Lawn Care Hard Charger Award for Sportsman gaining 16 spots in the 25-lap feature.
The Danís Deli Halfway Leader Awards were earned by Brad Missimer in the first 30-lapper for Modifieds and Addison Meitzler earned it in the second 30-lapper for Modifieds. In the Late Model feature it was Bill Henning get the Halfway Award while Joe Funk took the honors in the Sportsman feature.
Cargo Trailer Sales $50 gift certificates went to each of the 10th place finishers in the four feature events and each feature winner earned two free dinners at the Texas Roadhouse in Trexlertown, PA.
And each feature winner earned cash awards from TP Trailers of Limerick, PA. Manmiller and DeSantis earned an extra $250 each while Egrie Sr. and Whitmoyer each took home an extra $100 courtesy of TP Trailers.
Manmiller earned a $100 product certificate from VP Racing Fuels for using VP Racing gasoline during his feature victory.
Racing action returns to the one-third-mile, banked clay oval at Grandview Speedway on Saturday, May 19th, 7:30 p.m. with the tripleheader show of NASCAR 358 Modifieds, Late Models and Sportsman sponsored by BPG Racing. A 25-lap Sportsman feature rained out on May 5th will kick off the night making for a four feature show. Modifieds run in a 30 lap feature while Late Models and Sportsman top their night with 20 lap features. Adult admission is just $15 while youngsters 12 and under are admitted FREE.
On Sunday, May 20th, 2 p.m. the Sunday Small Car Series will be presented and will feature Legends, 270 and 600cc Micros, Slingshots and 600 Modifieds. Admission is just $5.
Grandview Speedway, a NASCAR sanctioned one-third-mile, banked clay track, is located at 43 Passmore Road, Bechtelsville, PA, just off Route 100, 10 miles north of Pottstown. For race information telephone 610.754.7688 or check in at For marketing information telephone Ernie Saxton at 215.752.7797 or email