Debug: SELECT * FROM PitSide_PR WHERE SiteID = 3 AND ID = 1939;
Grandview Press Releases

Celebrating our 53rd Year of Professional Auto Racing


| Home | | News | | Points| | Schedule | | Results | | |Photos | | Rule Book |
Press Release
Sunday, April 27, 2014

Bechtelsville, PA† Doug ďThe HandlerĒ Manmiller plus the Josh and Beth Biever-owned No. 46 race team continued their dominance of victory lane at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night as they appear to have found the right set-up. The Shoemakerville, PA racer overtook rookie Brad Arnold on the 21st lap and went on to make it two-in-a-row, and third win of the season, in the 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified feature over Don Norris Jr. and Meme DeSantis. Manmiller, who is on a roll, couldnít thank the crew enough for their countless hours of working on the car and having the best equipment. Manmiller earned a $2,900 payday. In addition to the purse he received $250 from T.P. Trailers and an extra $150 from VP Fuels for running VP gas.

The 25-lap NASCAR Late Model feature had its first repeat winner when Sean Merkel picked up his second win of the season and picked up an additional $100 from T.P. Trailers. The Pottstown racer may need that extra since he commented in victory lane that he thought he may have hurt the motor.

Defending Sportsman point champion Jared Umbenhauer made it three-in-a-row when he took home the checkered in the 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature by a healthy margin over Brett Kressley. The Richland, PA racer also received $100 from T.P. Trailers.

A doubleheader weekend of racing is coming up with the NASCAR 358 Modifieds, BRC Late Models and Sportsman stock cars in action at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday, May 3rd. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. with the Low Down & Dirty Meet and Greet. Then on Sunday, May 4th, the first of four Open Wheel Spectaculars takes place at Grandview with the wingless ARDC midgets and TSRS sprint cars in action. Each group will top off their portion of the show with a 25 lap feature. Racing starts at 7:30 p.m. Adult admission for both nights is a low $15.

Mike Laise took the early lead at the onset of the Modified feature and the next lap Kyle Follweiler brought out the yellow with a right rear flat tire on the homestretch. Laise was still in command on the restart trailed by Arnold, Chris Gambler, Andy Ressler and Kevin Hirthler, who was on the move.

A seven-car tangle between turns one and two brought out the caution on the third circuit. Taking a hard hit and eliminated was Hirthler. The other cars involved made a quick pit stop and rejoined the action. It was still Laise ahead of the pack when racing went green.

The third caution was for Eric Biehn when he lost power on the homestretch on lap four. That didnít deter Laise and he kept Arnold, Norris Jr., Manmiller, on the move on the outside from 16th behind.

Within a few laps Laise was in a race of his own building up a half a lap lead encountering lapped cars.

The pack regrouped on the 14th lap when Craig Von Dohren, the defending point champion, was against the third turn boilerplate after contact with another car and was out of contention. The restart saw a lead change as Arnold bolted into first with Norris Jr. and Manmiller advancing to second and third with Laise back to fourth. Trying to get into the mix were Meme DeSantis from his 21st consi win spot and Duane Howard, 13th-place starter.


Behind Arnold cars were constantly swapping spots back and forth and by the 19th lap Manmiller was pressuring him for the lead.

Manmiller became the third different leader of the event on the 21st lap.

Trying to chase Manmiller down with five to go were Norris Jr., DeSantis, Howard and Arnold.

Positions never changed and at the wave of the checkered it was Manmiller in the winnerís circle. Second through fifth were Norris Jr., DeSantis, Howard and Arnold. Laise, recipient of the Danís Deli Ĺ-way hoagie mark award; Kyle Weiss, Ressler, Mike Gular and Frank Cozze, Cargo Trailer certificate recipient, rounded out the top 10.

Heat winners were Chris Esposito, Cozze, Hirthler and Ressler. DeSantis and Tim Buckwalter won the consies.

The NASCAR BRC Late Model feature early leader was Kory Fleming. Former point champion John Giesler and Merkel, opening night winner, had their own battle for second with Jason Miller and Sam Schlosberg in pursuit.

Dan Green brought out the first and only caution on lap seven after he spun in the second turn. The lead still belonged to Fleming on the restart, but second was now held by Merkel.

Coming out of the fourth turn to complete the ninth lap Merkel dove to the inside of Fleming and into the lead.

The battle for second was a three-way one between Fleming, Schlosberg and Miller.

Chasing down Merkel at the Danís Deli 1/2-way hoagie mark were Fleming, Schlosberg, Miller and Randy Stoudt.

Defending champion Millerís bad luck continued when he pulled into the infield while running fourth and was out of contention.

Schlosberg began to close in on Merkel in the later stages as lap cars were in the picture.

There werenít enough laps to allow Schlosberg to reel Merkel in to challenge him and Merkel went on to score his eighth career win. Chasing him across the line were Schlosberg, Stoudt, Ron Kline and Fleming. Sixth through tenth were Wayne Pfeil, Lou Egrie, Giesler, Chuck Schutz, last weekís feature winner, and Bill Henning, Cargo Trailers certificate winner.


Merkel and Steve Butler won the heats.

Polestter Jason Neidlinger was off and running at the wave of the green the NASCAR Sportsman feature being challenged by Dave Bartram, Kaitie McCardle, Ron Krex and Ryan Lilick.

Neidlingerís comfortable lead was erased when Guy Germano slowed in turn four on the seventh lap for the only yellow of the race. Krex, who had just taken over second prior to the yellow took over first with Umbenhauer, who started 14th now in second.

Krexís lead was short-lived since Umbenhauer put the Barry Bashore-owned/ Eastern Rigging No. 5 at the head of the pack.

By the Danís Deli Ĺ-way hoagie mark, Umbenhauer was in his own zip code with Krex, Neidlinger, Ryan Beltz and Brett Kressley behind. Jordan Henn attempted to break into the top five.

There was no stopping Umbenhauer despite him having to deal with lapped traffic and was in victory lane for his ninth career win at the oval. Chasing him across were Kressley, opening night winner, who overtook second with two to go; Krex, Neidlinger and Beltz for their best finishes. Henn, McCardle, Jim Housworth, Eric Renninger and Ryan Lilick, Cargo Trailers winner, finished the top ten.

Neidlinger, Housworth and McCardle won the heats.

Grandview Speedway continues to present NASCAR stock car racing each Saturday night through late September. The one-third-mile, clay banked track is located on Passmore Road just off Route 100 in Bechtelsville, PA, 10 miles north of Pottstown. For information telephone 610.754.7688 or check