Debug: SELECT * FROM PitSide_PR WHERE SiteID = 3 AND ID = 1952;
Grandview Press Releases

Celebrating our 52nd Year of Professional Auto Racing


| Home | | News | | Points| | Schedule | | Results | | |Photos | | Rule Book |
Press Release
Sunday, June 08, 2014

BECHTELSVILLE, PA.  Defending NASCAR 358 champion Craig VonDohren held off the challengers to win his second 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified feature race at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. The win came during T.P. Trailers Night with the Oley, PA based seven time champion earning $2,900 for his efforts including $250 bonus bucks from T.P.Trailers and $150 worth of racing gasoline from VP Racing Fuels.

In the 25-lap NASCAR BRC Late Model feature, Ron Kline, who appeared to be on his way to his first win of the season the previous week until he ran over a muffler on the track and punctured his tire which eventually caused him to spin, led from start to finish to “finally get the monkey off his back,” and pick up the win. The Salford, PA racer also received $100 from T.P. Trailers plus an additional $100 from J & H Automotive owner Harry Gallagher.

For the second week in a row Jared Umbenhauer, who calls Richland, PA home, won the 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature for his fifth win of the year and received $100 from T.P. Trailers.

Rookie Brad Arnold was the early race leader for seven laps of the Modified event before DeSantis charged to the front of the 30-car starting grid.

Kyle Borror, another rookie this year, spun in the fourth turn to bring out the caution on the 10th lap. DeSantis restarted on the inside, but by now Von Dohren was second. DeSantis wasted no time motoring away on the restart with Von Dohren by his side making numerous moves.

By the Dan’s Deli ½-way mark lap, the order consisted of DeSantis, Von Dohren, Mike Gular, Ryan Grim and Arnold with the outcome anyone’s guess.

DeSantis’ slight edge was eliminated when the field regrouped for a multi-car first turn accident on the 17th lap. The restart was voided when Kyle Weiss spun between turns one and two. DeSantis held his inside line on the next attempt and kept Von Dohren at bay with Gular trying to stick his nose in the mix.

Von Dohren and Gular made contact on the 23rd lap and as a result Gular went around in the fourth turn for another caution. Gular showed his displeasure with Von Dohren. Also caught up was Hirthler, fourth-place runner, as his run ended when he had to pit with a flat front tire. The restart was brought back to the line after Terry Meitzler, who was having a strong run, found himself facing the wrong direction in turn two. The leader continued to be DeSantis when action went green again and Von Dohren worked at moving from his second place position.

The lead switched hands on the 26th lap when Von Dohren got past DeSantis.

VonDohren kept the Nick Gatto powered/K.L. Harring Transportation No. 1C in front the remaining laps of the exciting event to captured the victory trailed by DeSantis, who posted his best finish; Strunk, Doug Manmiller and Frank Cozze, who came from the 27th starting spot. R. Grim, Arnold, Eric Biehn, John Willman and Ray Swinehart, Cargo Trailer product certificate recipient, were sixth through tenth.

Last week’s feature winner Duane Howard pitted on the 10th lap, rejoined the race, was involved in the 17th lap melee and finished 16th. Strunk’s third place finish returned him to the point lead in the Modified division with just 115 points separating leader Strunk from second place Howard and third place VonDohren as the season approaches the halfway mark.

Heats were won by Hirthler, Mike Laise, Arnold and Jon Kellner. Kyle Follweiler and Willman won the consolation races.

Late Model action saw Kline charge past rookie Cory Merkel and into the lead on the start and immediately opened daylight over the rest of the competition.

Sean Merkel, last week’s winner, spun in turn two for the ninth lap yellow. That didn’t deter Kline as he held the lead on the restart with C. Merkel, Dan Green, Randy Stoudt and Rick Todorow in tow.

Green and Stoudt advanced to second and third at the Dan’s Deli ½-way mark to try to reel in Kline, but with them battling one another it allowed Kline to outdistance himself.

Kline never faltered and went on to chalk up his first win of the year followed by Green, who recorded his best finish after the crew burned the midnight oil after the car sustained considerable damage last week; Stoudt, C. Merkel, who turned in a very impressive run and Chuck Schutz. Sixth through tenth were Wayne Pfeil, Todorow, Kory Fleming, S. Merkel and Sam Schlosberg.

C. Merkel and Kline won the heats.

The Sportsman feature went non-stop last week, but the same didn’t hold true in this week’s event. After three tries to complete a lap and six cars eliminated, Jamie Undercoffler was the early leader.

Undercoffler led until the ninth lap when Mike Lisowski, absent a few weeks with motor problems, charged ahead with Brett Kressley close behind.

Lisowski stuck with the inside lane while Kressley pressured him from the high groove.

Kressley, trying to give himself a birthday present, motored into first on the 17th lap.

Ron Krex spun on the backstretch for the final yellow on the 21st lap. Kressley’s left front tire was going soft, but it wasn’t down on the rim so he could continue. Kressley and Umbenhauer, runner-up at the time, made contact on the restart and Umbenhauer was the new leader.

Umbenhauer went on to garner another win with Lisowski, Kenny Gilmore, Kressley and Brian Hirthler chasing him across the line. Sixth through tenth were Ken Eckert Jr., Guy Germano, Undercoffler, Jordan Henn and Chris Jenkins, Cargo Trailer certificate recipient.

Mike Stringer, Undercoffler and K. Gilmore were the heat winners. The consi was won by Henn.