Debug: SELECT * FROM PitSide_PR WHERE SiteID = 3 AND ID = 1963;
Grandview Press Releases

Celebrating our 53rd Year of Professional Auto Racing


| Home | | News | | Points| | Schedule | | Results | | |Photos | | Rule Book |
Press Release
Sunday, July 06, 2014

BECHTELSVILLE, PA.  It was a battle of champions at Grandview on Saturday night and fans were treated to fireworks on and off the track. In the premier event of the season for the BRC Late Models past champion Rrandy Stoudt won the 40-lapper and earned $2,100 for his efforts including a T.P.Trailers bonus. The win, his 59th career victory at the Bechtelsville clay oval, also established the Pottstown racer as the all-time leading feature winner in the very competitive Late Model division. In the headline NASCAR Whelen All American Series 358 Modifieds seven time champion Craig VonDohren added another victory to his already record holding total earning $2900 for the win including track prize money, T.P. Trailers bonus bucks and a VP Racing Fuels product award. In the Sportsman division it was defending champion Jared Umbenhauer earning his seventh win of the season. In addition to an outstanding show of stock car racing the Holiday crowd was treated to a terrific fireworks show.

 NASCAR sanctioned stock car racing returns to Grandview Speedway on Saturday night, July 12th at 7:30 p.m. when A.D.Moyer Lumber presents a four division card of racing action featuring the 358 Modifieds, Late Models and Sportsman stock cars along with the added attraction of Blast From the Past Vintage racers. Adult admission is $15 while youngsters under 12 are admitted free.

Craig VonDohren and Jeff Strunk had a tooth and nail battle going on to decide the outcome of the 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series 358 Modified feature. VonDohren “tried to switch things up – the lanes of the track he ran to confuse Strunk,” but that didn’t outsmart Strunk, the current point leader and he stayed right with Von Dohren using lapped cars to try to gain the lead to score back-to-back wins.

Despite losing the lead slightly as the pair encountered lap traffic, Von Dohren was always in front when it counted. VonDohren, the Oley leadfoot, kept Strunk behind him and went on to score his third win of the season on the one-third-mile, banked clay oval.

In the BRC Late Model Firecracker 40-lap event, Randy Stoudt literally ran away and hid as he appeared to be making a statement and lapped all of the nine finishing cars, but second and third place finishers Sean Merkel and Lou Egrie. Stoudt, the current point leader, returned to action this season driving the Taylor White/Wanda Brown-owned No. 10 and captured his sixth Firecracker event.

In the 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature lapped traffic worked to Jared Umbenhauer’s advantage when Mike Lisowski got trapped behind a slower car with two laps to go. Umbenhauer took over first and went on to chalk up his seventh win behind the wheel of the Barry Bashore No. 5 and receive an additional $100 from T.P. Trailers..


Once the track was run in by the modified drivers to their liking and the green was thrown Andy Ressler was the early leader.

By the seventh lap Ressler was being chased down by Meme DeSantis, Justin Grim, Todd Smith and Chris Esposito.

The first and only caution was brought out on the 12th lap when Duane Howard got a left rear flat after contact with Brideport invader Rick Laubach. Howard made a quick pit stop, rejoined the race and left Laubach know he wasn’t pleased with the turn of events.

On the restart DeSantis, the “Temple Tornado,” stormed into the lead to pick up the Dan’s Deli ½-way hoagie mark award, with the order behind him comprised of Ressler, Smith, John Willman and 12th-place starter VonDohren. Coming through at a fast pace was Strunk, who started 15th and was third at lap 18.

The veteran campaigners DeSantis, VonDohren and Strunk were running bumper-to-bumper that a blanket could have been put over them.

The lead changed hands on lap 20 when VonDohren put his self-owned/V & M Towing No. 1C in front and one lap later Strunk was there putting his bids in.

The former point champions put on one heck of a battle while DeSantis, Laubach and Ressler diced for third through fifth.

Even as they approached lap traffic on the 23rd lap the hard-fought battle went on. Strunk edged ahead, but Von Dohren was in front as the pair crossed the line.

VonDohren held off all of Strunk’s constant attempts to pull into victory lane for his 90th Saturday night career win followed closely by Strunk, Laubach, DeSantis and Ressler. Frank Cozze, Doug Manmiller, Willman, Smith and Ryan Grim, Cargo Trailer product certificate recipient, rounded out the top ten.

Esposito, Willman and Ressler won the heats. The consi was won by Jon Kellner, Sr.

The Firecracker 40 Late Model feature took several attempts to get a lap in, but once it started Steve Butler was the pacesetter.

On the second lap John Giesler got out of shape on the backstretch, continued, but Kory Fleming, who awarded several bicycles to children in the grandstands earlier in the evening, and Dan Green made contact and were out of action. The restart saw Butler spin in front of the pack in the first turn and also eliminated Ron Kline, Giesler and Sam Schlosberg, who had nowhere to go. The turn of events now put Bill Henning at the head of the pack with Wayne Pfeil, Stoudt, Egrie and Merkel in tow.

Stoudt charged into the lead on the seventh lap and immediately began distancing himself since in three laps he had a straightaway lead built up while the battle for second through fifth continued.

By the Dan’s Deli ½-way leader mark, the order chasing Stoudt, in the midst of lapped traffic, consisted of Merkel, Egrie, Pfeil and Henning.


No more cautions occurred to allow the others to close in and Stoudt was in the winner’s circle followed by Merkel and Egrie, the only ones not lapped. Jason Miller, last week’s feature winner was fourth followed by Pfeil, Chuck Schutz, Rick Todorow, Cargo Trailer product award recipient; Joe Fanelli and Henning.

Kline and Pfeil won the heats.

Mike Lisowski was the early leader of the Sportsman feature while Dave Bartram, Jason Neidlinger, Joe Funk III and Ron Krex diced for positions.

By the Dan’s Deli ½-way mark the order behind Lisowski was now comprised of Funk III, Craig Whitmoyer, Brett Kressley and Brian Hirthler.

With five laps to go and Lisowski still in command, Umbenhauer made his way into the brunt of the battle, overtook second on the 22nd lap and set his goal at passing Lisowski who was in lap traffic.

Umbenhauer took over first when Lisowski got caught behind lapped car and went on to claim the win. Finishing second was Lisowski, for his best run of the season; Kressley, Funk III and Hirthler. Rounding out the top ten were Kenny Gilmore, Paul Kline, Guy Germano, Jim Housworth, Cargo Trailer product certiciate recipient and Ken Eckert Jr.

Funk III, Lisowski and Germano won the heats. The consi went to Ryan Lilick.