Debug: SELECT * FROM PitSide_PR WHERE SiteID = 3 AND ID = 216;
Grandview Press Releases

Celebrating our 53rd Year of Professional Auto Racing


| Home | | News | | Points| | Schedule | | Results | | |Photos | | Rule Book |
Press Release
Saturday, July 26, 2008

BECHTELSVILLE, PA July 27, 2008 . . . Craig VonDohren made winning look easy on Saturday night in front of a huge crowd at Grandview Speedway while Dave Ely really had to work for his win.
Six time track champion VonDohren drove the Felty Farms/Stauffer Construction No.1c to victory in the 30-lap Zuber Realty Night NASCAR 358 Modified feature race finishing with a comfortable lead over the field. The win was the fourth of the season for the Oley, PA veteran racer.
For Ely winning the 25-lap United Racing Company Rislone Sprint Series feature race took patience and a charge to the front on the final two laps that earned him a victory by just a few feet over second place finisher Dave Gravel.
Mark Kratz took the 30-car starting field to the green flag and led the first lap. Marc Fehr went to the front on the second circuit of the one-third-mile, banked clay oval. Tommy Scheetz Jr. spun bringing out the caution and on the restart there was a major melee that involved several cars.
With everything cleared up Fehr continued to lead and he set the pace until the 14th lap when Craig VonDohren, coming from 11th starting spot, charged into the top position.
Once in front VonDohren was able to pull away from the field. At 20 laps a two car tangle on the backstretch closed the field up on the leader with Kevin Hirthler now in second spot.
On the restart a multi car tangle in turn four caught Fehr, Brad Missimer and Chris Esposito, all top five runners, and sent them to the back of the pack.
With five laps to the finish VonDohren had a new challenger in John Tschudy running his best race of the season. However Tschudy was not able to mount a challenge as VonDohren charged across the finish line more than a straightaway in front of the field. Tschudy (Birdsboro) finished second followed by current point leader Jeff Strunk (Mohnton) who came from 15th starting spot. Kevin Hirthler (Boyertown) finished fourth while Danny Hieber (Penndel) got his best finish of the season finishing in fifth spot.
In the 25-lap feature for the URC Sprints Brett Schoenly went to the front at the drop of the green and held the top spot until the third circuit when David Gravel took the top spot.
Just a week ago Gravel had won a feature at Big Diamond Raceway but had the win taken away when his car failed to pass tech inspection. It would have been his first career win.
This night Gravel (Watertown, CT.) looked like it would be his night to finally get his first feature win as he lead the feature right on up until the fourth turn of the final lap. An early race challenge by Ely had fallen short and Becca Anderson tried to take the lead but was not strong enough. Gravel ran a near perfect race and with the checkered flag in sight he had to be figuring the win was his.
Ely charged from third to second on the next to last lap stunning Anderson who had been in second for several laps and then set his sights on the leader. The crowd was on its feet as Ely charged toward the leader, took advantage of a slower car that may have hampered leader Gravel, and made an outside move in turn four nipping the leader at the finish line.
Gravel got second followed by Becca Anderson, current URC point leader Curt Michael and Trevor Lewis.
Qualifying events for the United Racing Company sprint cars went to Brett Schoenly, Kevin Darling, and Chuck Palmucci with the consolation race being won by Kyle Purks.
Wins in the heat races for the NASCAR 358 Modifieds went to Marc Fehr, Craig VonDohren, Jeff Strunk and Kevin Hirthler while the consolation victories going to Doug Manmiller and Cliff Quinn.
The Cornerstone Auto Sales Hard Charger award, worth $50 to  went to  Tommy Scheetz Jr. in the NASCAR 358 Modified feature as he gained 18 positions after starting 26th and finishing 8th. 
Coming up on Saturday, August 2nd is the 38th Annual Forrest Rogers Memorial 50 lap championship for the NASCAR 358 Modifieds paying $10,000 to win. In addition the Late Models will be racing. The night is run in memory of the man who created the Grandview Speedway.
Adult tickets pay $20, kids 6 thru 11 pay $5 and under 6 are admitted free.
Admission for regular Saturday nights is $13 for adults, $5 for youngsters 6 thru 11 and under 6 are admitted free with a paying adult. There is always free parking on the speedway grounds and fans are invited to enjoy the wide array of concessions available at the track or are free to bring their food and refreshments.
Grandview Speedway is located on Passmore Road, just off Route 100, Bechtelsville, PA, 10 miles north of Pottstown.  For information check in at or telephone 610.754.7688.
30-LAP Zuber Realty NASCAR 358 MODIFIED STOCK CAR FEATURE FINISH: 1. Craig VonDohren 2. John Tschudy 3. Jeff Strunk 4. Kevin Hirthler 5. Danny Hieber 6. Terry Meitzler 7. Jon Kellner Jr. 8. Tommy Scheetz Jr. 9. John Willman 10. Jason Hamilton 11. Doug Manmiller 12. Jason Smythe 13. Shawn Reimert 14. Brad Brightbill 15. Mark Kratz 16. Meme DeSantis 17. Brad Missimer 18. Kerry Kratz 19. Chris Esposito 20. Don Norris Jr. 21. Sean Merkel 22. Mark Fehr 23. Jeremy Banos  (Balance DNF) 24. Rick Schaffer 25. Mike Gular 26. Danny Erb 27. Ryan Beltz 28. Cliff Quinn 29. Ryan Godown 30. Todd Marburger
25-LAP Zuber Realty Rislone United Racing Company FEATURE FINISH: 1. Dave Ely 2. David Gravel 3. Becca Anderson 4. Curt Michael 5. Trevor Lewis 6. Ed Aikin 7. Michael Carber 8. Davey Sammons 9. Joey Biasi 10 Chris Coyle 11. Kyle Purks 12. Rory Janney 13. Kevin Welsh 14. Mark Bitner 15. Robbie Stillwagon 16. Ken Carberry 17. Jimmy Reppert 18. Brett Schoenly 19. Jason Clauss 20. Dave Gable 21. Gary Gollub 22. Scott Pursell 23. Josh Weller 24. Kevin Darling 25. Chuck Palmucci