Debug: SELECT * FROM PitSide_PR WHERE SiteID = 3 AND ID = 245;
Grandview Press Releases

Celebrating our 53rd Year of Professional Auto Racing


| Home | | News | | Points| | Schedule | | Results | | |Photos | | Rule Book |
Press Release
Saturday, August 23, 2008

BECHTELSVILLE, PA AUGUST 24, 2008 . . . Coming from 15th starting spot Ryan Godown was able to charge to the first victory of his career in the 30-lap Financial House Group NASCAR 358 Modified feature race at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. Jeff Strunk wrapped up his seventh NASCAR Modified championship with two point events still remaining on the schedule. Randy Stoudt drove to his third straight and sixth of the season victory in the 20-lap NASCAR Late Model feature race while Dillon Stein won the eight lap 600 Modifieds feature.
Bobby Gunther Walsh set the early pace in the 30-lap NASCAR 358 Modified feature race with Mark Kratz, surviving a couple of early race cautions, getting the lead on the third lap. Jason Smythe went to the front of the 28-car starting field and set the pace until the seventh circuit when Ryan Godown, coming from 15th starting position, took control.
Godown in the Abbi Electric/Stanton Hills Landscaping No. 1 entry managed to build up a half lap lead on the field.
The real race came with three laps to go when the caution came out for a minor incident closing up the field behind Godown. Jason Hamilton was in second followed by Jeff Strunk, coming from 22nd starting spot, Meme DeSantis and Jason Smythe.
Both Strunk and Hamilton put pressure on Godown in the final laps but the Ringoes, NJ racer was able to hold on to the top spot and get his first career Grandview Speedway Modified victory.
Finishing second was Jeff Strunk (Mohnton) who was right on the rear of the winner. In third was Jason Hamilton (Erwinna) followed by Meme DeSantis (Temple) and Craig VonDohren (Oley) who had gone to the rear early in the feature charging back to grab the fifth place finish.
The Late Model feature, going 20 laps, looked like a repeat of the previous week when Bryon Sipe lead most of the laps and looked to be on his way to his first win of the season. However, late in the feature Randy Stoudt (Pottstown), driving the Merkel Rebar/TP Trailers No. 118, coming from 18th starting spot took the lead and went on to his third straight win and his sixth of the season. The week before Stoudt waited until the final two laps to take the win away from young Danny Snyder.
Sipe (Leesport) held on to finish second. Kyle Merkel (Gilbertsville), who made a charge for the top spot in the early laps, finished third. Mike Kellner (Lansdale) came home fourth followed by Brian Shuey (Shoemakersville).
Stoudt’s victory moved him to within 14 points of point leader Chuck Schutz (Stoudt 5053 to Schutz’s 5067) in the chase for the NASCAR Late Model title. Two races remain in the point chase.
Dillon Stein survived the crashfest that saw the 600 Modified feature shortened to eight laps because of time constraints and won his second of the season at the Bechtelsville clay oval. Stein won a midweek feature back in early August.
Second spot went to Mike Keppler who was closing on the winner when the checkered flag was shown. Ryan Higgs, winner of the previous week’s feature, finished third followed by Eric Whitbe and Kevin Gruber.
Qualifying heats for the 600 Modifieds went to Chris Stockham, Brian Horning and Ryan Higgs with Butch Getz getting the win in the consolation race. In the qualifiers for the Late Models wins were earned by Mike Kellner, Chuck Schutz and Bryon Sipe. The NASCAR 358 Modified qualifiers went to Jason Smythe, Rick Schaffer, John Tschudy and Craig VonDohren while Jon Kellner Jr. and Jeff Strunk were tops in the consolation events.
The Cornerstone Auto Sales Hard Charger awards, worth $50 to each driver, went to Sean Merkel who started 28th in the Modified feature and finished 6th. Randy Stoudt earned the award in the Late Models going from 18th to first.
The Salvage Transport Award, $30 cash, went to Bobby Wyatt for the second week in a row. The award goes to the Late Model racer who is the last racer to finish on the lead lap.
Bryon Sipe and Ryan Godown each earned the Dan’s Deli Halfway Leader awards.
NASCAR 358 Modifieds, Late Models and Legends will be part of the tripleheader show sponsored by Green Lane Wm. Penn/Four Star Lettering on Saturday, August 30th. Racing starts at 7:30 p.m. Dover International Speedway will be there with their tire changing competition starting at 5:30 p.m. Winner goes home with pit passes for their September Sprint Cup race.
Admission for regular Saturday nights is $13 for adults, $5 for youngsters 6 thru 11 and under 6 are admitted free with a paying adult. There is always free parking on the speedway grounds and fans are invited to enjoy the wide array of concessions available at the track or are free to bring their food and refreshments.
Advance tickets for the huge BPG Racing Freedom 76 set for Saturday, September 13th are now available at the track. The race pays $20,000 to win and attracts a stellar field of  Modified racing talents.
Just added to the schedule is a NEETS Enduro featuring competition for 4 cylinder, 6/8 cylinder cars along with trucks on Sunday, October 19th at 4 p.m.
Grandview Speedway is located on Passmore Road, just off Route 100, Bechtelsville, PA, 10 miles north of Pottstown.  For information check in at or telephone 610.754.7688.
30-LAP FINANCIAL HOUSE NIGHT NASCAR 358 MODIFIED STOCK CAR FEATURE FINISH: 1. Ryan Godown 2. Jeff Strunk 3. Jason Hamilton 4. Meme DeSantis 5. Craig VonDohren 6. Sean Merkel 7. Jason Smythe 8. Terry Meitzler 9. Doug Manmiller 10. Mark Kratz 11. Todd Smith 12. Kerry Kratz 13. Don Norris 14. Danny Hieber 15. Jon Kellner Jr. 16. Todd Marburger 17. Kurt Spotts 18. John Tschudy 19. Bobby Gunther Walsh (Balance of field did not finish) 20. Cliff Quinn 21. Marc Fehr 22. Rick Schaffer 23. Jon Kellner Sr. 24. John Willman 25. Tommy Scheetz Jr. 26. Shawn Reimert 27. Danny Erb 28. Kevin Hirthler
20-LAP FINANCIAL HOUSE NIGHT  NASCAR LATE MODEL  FEATURE FINISH: 1.Randy Stoudt 2. Bryon Sipe 3. Kyle Merkel 4. Mike Kellner 5. Brian Shuey 6. John Giesler 7. Chuck Schutz 8. Ron Kline 9. Eric Snoke 10. Rick Todorow 11.. Dean Stoudt 12. Buddy Wharton 13. Bill Henning 14. John Favinger 15. Wayne Pfeil 16. Greg Hoffmaster 17. Bobby Wyatt (Balance of field did not finish) 18. Matt Carter 19. Jud Hendrickson 20. Dennis Peiper.
Danny Snyder and Harry Henning each qualified for the feature but were unable to start.
8 LAP FINANCIAL HOUSE NIGHT 600 MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH: 1. Dillon Stein 2. Mike Keppler 3. Ryan Higgs 4. Eric Whitbe 5. Kevin Gruber 6. Brad Szulewski 7. Chuck Miller 8. Cody Coons 9. Aaron Bowes 10. Kyle Gardner