Debug: SELECT * FROM PitSide_PR WHERE SiteID = 3 AND ID = 253;
Grandview Press Releases

Celebrating our 53rd Year of Professional Auto Racing


| Home | | News | | Points| | Schedule | | Results | | |Photos | | Rule Book |
Press Release
Saturday, August 30, 2008

BECHTELSVILLE, PA August 31, 2008 . . . Craig VonDohren faced quite a few obstacles in getting to victory lane at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night in the 30-lap Green Lane Wm. Penn/4 Star Lettering Night NASCAR Modified feature race. The obstacles were lapped cars that created late race problems for VonDohren and could have cost him his chance at a sixth feature win of the season.

Mike Kellner had a relatively easy time of it as he led most of the laps in winning his fifth NASCAR Late Model 20-lap feature and it was Josh Morrow getting his third Legends win of the season at Grandview in the 15-lap main event.

The entire night of racing was dedicated to the memory of Joe Pratt. The long time advertising director of Area Auto Racing News (a trade publication that covers motorsports) and general manager of the annual Motorsports show in Atlantic City passed away on Sunday, August 24th and was a good friend to many racers and others involved in the sport.

A 29-car starting field took the green for the 30-lap Modified stock car feature race with Bobby Gunther Walsh leading. Veteran racer Rick Schaffer rolled the Normís Save Station No. 357 on the second lap in the second turn. He was not injured.

Chris Esposito took the top spot from Walsh and set the pace until the seventh circuit when young Brad Missimer was able to move to the front. Three laps later Missimer had smoke billowing out the rear of his No. 327 Modified and headed to the pits during a caution. Six time track champion Craig VonDohren inherited the lead coming from 14th starting spot.

At the midway point VonDohren held the top spot while Jeff Strunk, who just recently wrapped up his seventh championship, was charging in second. Meme DeSantis, coming from 23rd, was third.

The top three stayed the same for many laps but as the race went into the late stages lapped traffic created obstacles with VonDohren and Strunk seemingly working magic to get through them without incident.

At the finish VonDohren, in the Mike Harvey owned Felty Farms No. 1c, was able to hold off Strunk (Mohnton) by a narrow margin to grab the victory and the $2,200 first place money. Third spot went to DeSantis (Temple) followed by Chris Esposito (Lansdale) and Shawn Reimert (Oley).

In victory lane VonDohen, who calls Oley home, pointed out that things are just going their way right now but he questioned the thinking of the drivers in the lapped cars.

Wayne Pfeil led the 20 car starting field for the Late Model feature and set the pace for the first few laps as he continues to seek his first career victory at the Bechtelsville clay oval. Mike Kellner, coming from seventh, ran the high grove to move to the front of the field with just one third of the race completed. Once in front the young Lansdale racer made it look rather easy as he had a comfortable lead at the finish.

Chuck Schutz, leading the Late Model point standings, came home second with a strong effort. With the finish Schutz (Pottstown) now has a 56 point edge over Randy Stoudt going into the final point race of the season on Saturday, September 6th. Third spot went to early leader Wayne Pfeil (Mohnton) followed by four time champion Dean Stoudt (East Greenville) and defending champion Brian Shuey (Shoemakersville).

The 15-lap feature for the Rolling Thunder Blue Focal Legends Cars had Gary Fenton setting the pace. Buddy Sload Jr. was quick to move to the front but before the race reached the halfway mark Josh Morrow charged to the front. Frank Polimeda, a feature winner at Grandview earlier, was running second but just could not close the gap on the leader.

At the finish Morrow (Hamburg, PA) had a comfortable lead in grabbing the victory with Polimeda settling for second. Third spot went to Randy Kissinger followed by Justin Grim and Tim Henry.

Qualifying heat races for the Modifieds had Chris Esposito, Don Norris, Brad Missimer and Kurt Spotts winning while the consolation events were won by Terry Meitzler and Sean Merkel. In the Late Model qualifiers wins went to Bill Henning, Mike Kellner and Chuck Schutz. Qualifiers for the Legends saw Steve Nederostek, Randy Kissinger, and Josh Morrow winning while the consolation race was won by Rob Sobieski.

The Cornerstone Auto Sales Hard Charger awards, worth $50 to each driver, went to† Meme DeSantis in the Modifieds gaining 20 positions in the feature while Randy Stoudt gained 10 spots in the Late Model feature to earn the award.†††††††††††† .

The Danís Deli of Boyertown Halfway Leader Awards went to
Craig VonDohren in the Modifieds and Mike Kellner in the Late Models.

NASCAR 358 Modifieds and Late Models will be featured in the final point race of the 2008 season on Saturday, September 3. Tom Oates Chevrolet of Chester Springs, PA will sponsor the evening. Racing starts at 7:30 p.m.

Admission for regular Saturday nights is $13 for adults, $5 for youngsters 6 thru 11 and under 6 are admitted free with a paying adult. There is always free parking on the speedway grounds and fans are invited to enjoy the wide array of concessions available at the track or are free to bring their food and refreshments.

Advance tickets for the huge BPG Racing Freedom 76 set for Saturday, September 13th are now available at the track. The race pays $20,000 to win and attracts a stellar field of† Modified racing talents. Race will get the green flag at 7 p.m. The Beer City BPG Racing Freedom Fest will take place from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Included in the event will be the Line-X Dunk Tank, First Class Tint/ Diamond Glass tire changing competition, a display of race cars, opportunities for autographs and photos, driver interviews and more.

Grandview Speedway is located on Passmore Road, just off Route 100, Bechtelsville, PA, 10 miles north of Pottstown.† For information check in at or telephone 610.754.7688.

30-LAP GREEN LANE WM. PENN. 4 STAR LETTERING NIGHT NASCAR 358 MODIFIED STOCK CAR FEATURE FINISH: 1. Craig VonDohren 2. Jeff Strunk 3. Meme DeSantis 4. Chris Esposito 5. Shawn Reimert 6. Doug Manmiller 7. Ryan Godown 8. Don Norris 9. Jon Kellner Sr. 10. Ryan Beltz 11. Todd Marburger 12. Kevin Hirthler 13. Kevin Hirthler 14. Ron Kline 15. Bobby Gunther Walsh 16. John Tschudy 17. Terry Meitzler 18. Kurt Spotts 19. Troy Wink 20. John Willman 21. Glenn Owens 22. Mike Laise 23. Sean Merkel 24. Jason Hamilton 25. Brad Missimer 26. Danny Erb 27. Chris Gambler 28. Kerry Kratz 29. Rick Schaffer.

20-LAP GREEN LANE WM. PENN, 4 STAR LETTERING NIGHT† NASCAR LATE MODEL† FEATURE FINISH: 1. Mike Kellner 2. Chuck Schutz 3. Wayne Pfeil 4. Dean Stoudt 5. Brian Shuey 6. Randy Stoudt 7. Bill Henning 8. Kyle Merkel 9. Rick Todorow 10. Eric Snoke 11. John Giesler 12. Bryon Sipe 13. Buddy Wharton 14. Johnathan Favinger 15. Jud Hendrickson 16. Dennis Pieper 17. Ed Trimbur 18. Greg Hoffmaster 19. Bobby Wyatt 20. Harry Henning II 21. Ron Kline (DNS).

15 LAP GREEN LANE WM. PENN/4 STAR LETTERING NIGHT LEGENDS FEATURE FINISH: 1. Josh Morrow 2. Frank Polimeda 3. Randy Kissinger 4. Justin Grim 5. Tim Henry 6. Rodney Kistler 7. Buddy Sload Jr. 8. Paul Rochelle 9. Clint Penekaukas 10. Paul McCollum 11. TJ Mayberry 12. Steve Nederostek 13. Todd McCollum 14. Greg Burd 15. Ed Wentz 16. Bill Diehl 17. Joe Plunket 18. Gary Fenton 19. Jim Black 20. Brian Weitzel 21. Jason Rochelle 22. Scott Houdeshell 23. Rob Sobieski 24. Pat McDermott