Debug: SELECT * FROM PitSide_PR WHERE SiteID = 3 AND ID = 943;
Grandview Press Releases

Celebrating our 53rd Year of Professional Auto Racing


| Home | | News | | Points| | Schedule | | Results | | |Photos | | Rule Book |
Press Release
Saturday, September 18, 2010

Bechtelsville, PA September 19, 2010 . . . With an overflow turnout of fans on hand Meme DeSantis was able to hold off the double barreled BPG Racing team of Duane Howard and Stewart Friesen to win the BPG Racing Freedom 76 Classic for 358 Modified stock cars for the second year in a row at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night.
“When money is on the line, Meme is money,” said DeSantis in victory lane as he celebrated his $20,000 pay day. “This is one for the old people. We stank all year but my crew stuck with me. Harvey (car owner Harvey Beitler) stuck with me. This is awesome.”
This was the third time for the “over fifty” veteran to win the BPG Racing Freedom 76.
Lapped traffic may have been a factor in the battle for the win in the closing laps but DeSantis, a veteran dirt track Modified stock car racer, was able to keep the Team Fast No.88D entry in front to the finish to claim the victory in the biggest event of the season.
Billy Pauch led the 33 car starting field to the green flag and set the pace for the first nine laps before Craig VonDohren was able to charge to the front. VonDohren was the leader until the 24th lap when Duane Howard was able to take the top spot. Three laps later Ryan Godown, running third, got caught up in someone else’s mistake and was towed to the pits done for the night.
On the restart it was Howard in front but VonDohren was quick to take the top spot. VonDohren did collect the $500 for leading at halfway courtesy of
With 40 laps completed Howard was back in front and VonDohren was at the back of the field as a result of a tangle with another competitor in turn one. On the restart Meme DeSantis took control and at the 42nd lap Howard was back in front. With 49 laps complete rear end problems sent VonDohren to the pits. Howard continued to be the leader with DeSantis giving him quite a side-by-side battle for the top spot. Debris on the track brought out a caution on the 54th circuit and on the restart DeSantis again charged to the front.
Howard got one more lap as the leader before DeSantis was able to take the top spot on the 65th lap and lead the balance of the race to get the $20,000 first place money. Finishing second, a very close second, was Duane Howard (Oley) followed by Stewart Friesen (Niagara on the Lake, Canada) who came from 26th to finish 3rd.  Fourth spot was earned by Doug Manmiller (Shoemakersville) followed by Jon Kellner Sr. (Lansdale).
The BFP Specialty Cash Dash was won by Craig VonDohren who donated the $1000 first prize to his injured crew chief Jason Bashore. Additional funds were raised for Bashore with a bake sale and a helmet collection in the grandstands. More than $3500 was collected.
Keith Hoffman won the Schaeffer Motorsports Minuteman 20.
Qualifying heats for the 66 Modifieds on hand were won by Ryan Grim, Danny Erb, Shawn Reimert, Jon Kellner Sr., Brad Missimer and Kevin Hirthler. Consolation races, earning the top three finishers spots in the Minuteman 20, saw Billy Pauch Jr., Colt Harris and Andy Burkhart take the victories.
Racing returns to Grandview Speedway on Saturday, September 25th at 7 p.m. with a doubleheader card featuring open competition Modifieds and Late Models. The event will be the final regular season Saturday night event. Coming up on Saturday, October 2nd, 1 p.m. will be a NEETS Enduro.
SCHAEFFER MOTORSPORTS MINUTEMAN 20: 1. Keith Hoffman 2. Rick Laubach 3. Don Norris Jr. 4. David VanHorn 5. Billy Pauch Jr. 6. Jimmy Horton 7. Joe Grammes 8. Nate Christman 9. Andy Burkart 10. Jarrod Miller 11. Jason Smythe 12. Steven Swinehart 13. Chris Esposito 14. Glenn Strunk 15. Troy Wink 16. Jason Hamilton 17. Larry Soloman 18. Ray Swinehart 19. Glenn Owens 20. Colt Harris 21. Tom Umbenhauer
BPG RACING FREEDOM 76 358 MODIFIED CLASSIC: 1. Meme DeSantis 2. Duane Howard 3. Stewart Friesen 4. Doug Manmiller 5. Jon Kellner Sr. 6. Mike Gular 7. Kevin Hirthler 8. Rick Laubach 9. Kenny Brightbill 10. Jeff Strunk 11. Danny Erb 12. John Willman 13. Addison Meitzler 14. Terry Meitzler 15. Shawn Reimert 16. Jordan Umbenhauser 17. Gary Hager 18. Tommy Scheetz Jr. 19. Kevin Albert Jr. 20. Kyle Follweiler 21. Brad Missimer 22. David Van Horn  (Balance of the field did not finish) 23. Billy Pauch 24. Craig VonDohren 25. Danny Hieber 26. Ray Swinehart 27. Tom Mayberry 28. Ryan Godown 29. Don Norris Jr. 30. A.J. DeSantis 31. Keith Hoffman 32. Ryan Grim 33. Jon Kellner Jr.