?GILBERTSVILLE, PA?~ For the fourth time in his career Duane Howard will reap the benefits of winning the NASCAR Whelen All American Series Modified championship at Grandview Speedway when the 48th annual awards banquet is presented at the Gilbertsville, PA Fire Hall on Saturday, November 20th. Brian Shuey will be honored for winning his third NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model championship and his second in a row at the one-third-mile, banked clay oval.
?It has been a while since Oley, PA native Duane Howard has won the title at Grandview. His was the titleholder in 1993, 1996 and last won the title in 1997. Driving for Blue Bell, PA businessman Chad Sinon the team put together a spectacular season that saw them take eight victories in the Saturday night NASCAR sanctioned racing action including a first time win in the rich Forrest Rogers Memorial Classic. The team never finished out of the top ten earning 6146 points to top perennial champion Jeff Strunk, an eight time champion, by more than 1000 points.
?Howard becomes the first driver to win the title other than Strunk or Craig VonDohren since 1999 when Terry Meitzler was the champion. Howard and Sinon will take home more than $10,000 in track point fund money, NASCAR point money, the PA State Championship award and $5,000 for earning third in the Whelen All American Series National standings. Howard will reap additional honors at the NASCAR Whelen Awards Gala in Charlotte, NC early in December.
?Strunk will be honored for his second place finish in the point standings followed by Ryan Godown, VonDohren and Mike Gular. Amazing is the fact that both Strunk and Gular were able to finish in the top five in the final standings without benefit of a feature win.
?Brian Shuey of Shoemakersville, PA earned the third title of his career and did so with just one feature win in the Late Model division and that came on opening night of the 2010 season. Shuey drove the Charlotte and Dave Eyrich owned entry to a second straight title finishing with a 284 point edge over Randy Stoudt. Shuey also won the NASCAR Late Model title in 2007 and 2009.
?Stoudt will be honored for his second place finish followed by Chuck Schutz, Ron Kline and Mike Kellner. Stoudt, Schutz and Kline are all past champions.
?A variety of special awards will also be presented during the banquet which gets started with a home style dinner at 6 p.m. There will be awards for Rookie of the Year, Best Newcomer, Most Improved Driver? and more in both divisions.
?Following the awards ceremony there will be music for dancing and socializing.