Race Results 04/03/2010

Bechtelsville, Pa. ? John Willman, a low-budget driver/owner was able to withstand all of Duane Howard?s maneuvers to win the 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Racing Series modified feature to start the beginning of the 49th season at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. Willman, who has not been in victory lane at the 1/3-mile oval since July 24, 1999, also snapped Howard?s four-straight season opener victories. By virtue of a straight-up heat win lineup, polesitter Billy Pauch Jr. kept the Eastern Rigging No. 11 at the head of the 29-car starting grid on the initial start.

Ryan Godown, driving the Norm Hansell owned No. 357 this season, dove underneath Pauch Jr. at the start-finish line to become the new leader on the fourth circuit.

Behind Godown the battle for positions continued between Pauch Jr., Willman, Mike Gular and Howard. Trying to get into a top five spot was Ray Swinehart.

Despite the front runners encountering lap traffic by the 10th lap, the order remained the same as the race continued.

The race was red flagged on the 15th lap when Brian Lilick flipped coming out of the fourth turn. He was uninjured, but the car was badly damaged. The restart was red-flagged after Gular was tapped from behind which caused him to spin and trigger a 14-car accident going into the first turn. Some made pit stops and rejoined, but the unfortunate ones that couldn?t and were eliminated included Craig Von Dohren, coming off a win the previous night at Big Diamond Raceway, Minersville; Danny Erb, Ron Seltmann, Jason Hamilton, Carroll Hine III and Todd Marburger. When action resumed Godown, who received the Dan?s Deli 1/2-way leader Hoagie Award, continued his pace trailed by Pauch Jr., Willman, Howard and Doug Manmiller.

Godown?s chances of a victory were deflated after a flat tire caused him to stop in the second turn bringing out the yellow on the 18th lap. He was able to make a quick pit stop and rejoin the field since some drivers would not cooperate and reline properly.

Pauch Jr. inherited the lead on the restart, but it was veteran racer Willman, behind his own No. 74W, who charged to the front of the pack when action continued.

Howard overtook second the next time around to begin his quest for another win as he began to pressure Willman.

The final caution was on the 22nd lap when the pony wheel came off Godown?s car ending his night for the newly-formed team.

Willman held his ground on the restart and kept Howard behind him while Manmiller, Pauch Jr. and Meme DeSantis diced for third through fifth. Willman stayed low to hold off Howard?s bids to keep Howard, in the BPG Racing No. 4, behind and it worked as the race progressed.

Coming in for the checkered Howard made one last try to pass Willman, but failed as Willman pulled into the winner?s circle ending a long winless drought which was a crowd-pleasing victory and Howard fell short for second. Finishing third was Manmiller followed by DeSantis, who received the CornerStone Auto Sales hard charger award and Pauch Jr.

Rounding out the top ten were defending point champion Jeff Strunk, Swinehart, Sean Merkel, Addison Meitzler and Gular who was able to muster up a 10th place finish and also receive the Cargo Trailer award. The five qualifying heats were won by Pauch Jr., Willman, Gular, Godown and Howard. Erb, DeSantis and Lilick won the consies. Saturday, April 10 these same drivers plus others will compete in a 40-lap feature.


Bechtelsville, PA ? Mike Kellner, driving t