Race Results 05/05/2012

By: Vicki Gehris

  Bechtelsville, PA ? For the second time of the 2012 racing season at Grandview Speedway, Mike Kellner, behind the wheel of the family-owned sponsored Power Washers/Mary Kay No. 57 chalked up the victory in the 20-lap NASCAR late model feature on Saturday night. Kellner lost the lead to Ron Kline on the 11th lap, but regained it two laps later after Kline bobbled a bit in the second turn. Kellner jeopardized the situation to assume the position. He kept Kline behind him the rest of the way and went on to claim his 23rd career win at the 1/3-mile oval. Kellner also received a case of Mobil 1 oil, the Dan?s Deli 1/2-way hoagie award, dinner for two at the Texas Roadhouse, Trexlertown in addition to more monetary prizes from T.P. Trailers for his efforts.

Doug Walton set the pace for five laps in the Douglass Diamonds/Walton?s Lawn Care No. 02 before Kellner charged to the front of the pack.

The first and only caution of the event was on the seventh lap when Chuck Schutz found himself in the first turn tire with heavy damage to the right side. He rejoined the race after a quick pit stop. It was still Kellner in the lead when action resumed trailed by Andy Ressler, Kline, Walton and Sean Merkel.

Kline overtook the runner-up spot on the ninth lap and two laps later he put the V&M Towing No. 3 at the head of the pack. Kellner stuck right with Kline as the pair approached lap traffic which somewhat hampered the competition. The slower moving traffic was down as low as they could be without running in the infield.

Lap 13 was a lucky one for Kellner since Kline slipped up slightly and Kellner quickly put the Watash Speed shop mount back in first.

While Kellner showed the way, the battle for the remaining top five spots brewed between Kline, Merkel, Ressler and Danny Snyder.

The lead never changed and Kellner pulled into victory lane trailed by Kline, Merkel, Ressler and Snyder, who received the Salvage Transport Hard Charger award. Sixth through tenth were Rick Todorow, Kory Fleming, Schutz, Steve Nederostek and Walton, recipient of the Cargo Trailers certificate.