Race Results 06/09/2012

By: Vicki Gehris


Bechtelsville, Pa. ? It was only a matter of time before Jarrad Miller, who previously ran the sportsman class at Brideport Speedway before making the transition to the 358-modified NASCAR Whelen All-American Series ranks a few years ago at Grandview Speedway, would be in victory lane as he showed steady improvement each week. Saturday night the wait was over for the Barto, Pa. racer when he captured his first 30-lap modified feature career win at the 1/3-mile oval in the event broadcast by RCN-TV 4, Allentown and sponsored by TP Trailers, Limerick.

A multi-car fourth turn incident before the first lap could be completed that developed when polesitter Eric Biehn spun brought out the first and only caution of event. When action went green again, Jeremy Banos was the early pacesitter with Miller, Gary Hager, Jordan Umbenhauer and Meme DeSantis, a feature winner this season, on his bumper.

The order behind Banos by the fifth lap now consisted of Miller, Umbenhauer, DeSantis and Mike Gular.

Lap after lap the top five remained the same until DeSantis advanced to third on lap 12 to challenge Miller for the runner-up spot.

Miller made several unsuccessful bids for the lead, but finally on the 16th lap he put the Horwith Trucking No. 917 at the head of the pack.

Positions behind Miller, who built up a slight edge, were constantly changing and by the 23rd lap second through fifth were DeSantis, Banos, Gular and Doug Manmiller, also a feature winner this season. Deep in the pack trying to move into the top five were current point leader Duane Howard and defending point champion Jeff Strunk who ran sixth and seventh.

No restarts were needed after the initial one to allow the field to regroup and put more pressure on Miller and at the drop of the checkered he pulled into the winner?s circle for a well-deserved victory. Manmiller came on strong on the 29th lap for second followed by DeSantis, Gular and Howard. Rounding out the top ten were M. Strunk, Banos, who also received the Dan?s Deli ?-way Hoagie award; Craig Von Dohren, Kyle Weiss and Umbenhauer, who received the