Race Results 06/13/2015


BECHTELSVILLE, PA. ? Last week at Grandview Speedway Ray Swinehart was a runner-up by a wheel over eventual winner Ron Seltmann Jr. This Saturday night the two-time point champion, sporting a brand new car, stepped it up a notch and was victorious by a bigger distance over second place finisher Tim Buckwalter in the 30-lap T.P. Trailers NASCAR Whelen Modified feature sponsored by A.D. Moyer Lumber. Swinehart, who lives for racing commented that ?he may be old, but he still keeps digging and sometimes you get lucky.? He admitted he squeezed Buckwalter at one point and hoped he wasn?t mad.

In Sportsman action the third generation of a Gilmore won the 25-lap NASCAR feature in the name of Brett Gilmore. His father Kenny, who dropped out of the event, won earlier this year and his grandfather Charley Gilmore won several years ago. It wasn?t an easy win for the younger Gilmore since he got by rookie Ryan Shupp coming in for the checkered to score his first career victory.

The 25-lap TSRS Sprint feature was won by Adam Carberry by a sizeable margin over point leader Mike Haggenbottom.

Swinehart overtook Todd Smith for the lead on the second lap of the Modified feature and immediately opened daylight over the other 27 competitors.

Mike Gular regrouped the pack on the ninth lap when he stopped on the backstretch. Swinehart held his ground on the restart, but by this time Buckwalter was second making his presence known.

Behind Swinehart and Buckwalter, Duane Howard, Danny Erb and current point leader Craig Von Dohren diced for third through fifth.

Mike Laise spun between the third and fourth turn for the 16th lap caution. On this restart Buckwalter ran Swinehart out of real estate and emerged as the new leader.

It didn?t take Buckwalter long to outdistance himself while Howard, Von Dohren and Danny Erb trailed. Attempting to get into the top five was Meme DeSantis.

The final caution was for DeSantis when he was spun in the second turn and went pit side. This time when action went green, Swinehart made a move on Buckwalter and was back on top. Von Dohren and Howard swapped paint many times while battling for third with Doug Manmiller just waiting for a chance to advance.

The veteran campaigner never relinquished the lead and pulled into victory lane for his first win of the season being shout-out of the winner?s circle since 2012. Buckwalter hung on for second followed by Von Dohren, Howard and Manmiller. Rounding out the top ten were Erb, Glenn Strunk, Don Norris Jr., John Willman and Jarrad Miller, recipient of the Cargo Trailers certificate.

DeSantis, G. Strunk and Kyle Borror were the heat winners. The consi was won by Mike Kellner.

Shupp quickly pulled away at the onset of the sportsman feature and by the sixth lap had a sizeable lead built up.

Jockeying for positions behind him were B. Gilmore, Jeff Sechrist, Jason Neidlinger and Brad Arnold.

Sechrist, already a feature winner this year, overtook second with Gilmore trying aimlessly to pass him again.

At the completion of 16 laps Sechrist and Gilmore caught Shupp and a three-wide race for the lead began.

Gilmore was back in second on the 18th lap and began to put heavy pressure on Shupp, who ran the high line while Gilmore stayed low.

Lap cars came into play the closing stages and a few times Gilmore had to back off.

With the checkered flag in sight Gilmore gave it his all coming off the fourth turn and succeeded to pass Shupp for the win. Finishing a very close second was Shupp, for his best outing, followed by Sechrist, Arnold and Brian Hirthler. Ken Eckert Jr., Brett Kressley, Jordan Henn, Craig Whitmoyer, Cargo Trailer recipient and Mike Lisowski, last week?s feature winner, were sixth through tenth.

Heat winners were Lisowski, Sechrist and B. Gilmore.

Tim Tanner led the Sprint feature for four laps before he made contact with the spun car of Samantha Leiberman, who was right in the middle of the fourt