Race Results 06/28/2014


BECHTELSVILLE, PA. ? Defending sportsman point champion Jared Umbenhauer picked an appropriate time to win the 40-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature on Saturday night at Grandview Speedway since activities were sponsored by Bashore Trucking/BFP Specialty. His car owner, Barry Bashore, owns Bashore Trucking. The current point leader picked up his sixth win of the season in the extra distance event for a hefty payday of $1,500 plus $100 from T.P. Trailers, Limerick and the Dan?s Deli ?-way hoagie mark. Umbenhauer ?got through traffic good running the outside, but then had to protect the bottom since that?s where the car worked best later.?
Jeff Strunk won his second feature 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified feature of the season to increase his point lead in addition. He also received an addition $250 from T.P. Trailers.
In the 30-lap NASCAR BRC Late Model feature Jason Miller, the defending point champion who sat out a few weeks due to motor issues, finally got the monkey off his back and picked ups his first win of the season plus first since June 23, 2012 and earn an additional $100 from T.P. Trailers plus the Dan?s Deli ?-way hoagie mark. ?It feels great to be back and was happy that runner-up Dan Green ran him clean the entire race.?
Sportsman action saw polesitter Mike Stringer set the pace for eight laps before Ryan Lilick, recent high school graduate, moved in front on the ninth circuit.
Behind Lilick the battle for positions went on between Umbenhauer, 14th-place starter; Stringer, Kenny Gilmore and Tom Miller.
Gilmore advanced to second on the 17th lap to pressure Umbenhauer.
The yellow was thrown on the 19th lap when Paul Kline spun between turns three and four. A multi-car third and fourth turn accident voided the restart. When action resumed Umbenhauer ran the high line while Gilmore tried the low lane to attempt to pass, but to no avail.
In a matter of time Umbenhauer outdistanced himself trailed by K. Gilmore, Craig Whitmoyer, Brett Kressley and Brett Gilmore.
Kressley overtook K. Gilmore for second on the 26th lap and set sail after Umbenhauer, who by this time encountered lap traffic.
At the conclusion of 34 laps Kressley started to erase Umbenhauer?s sizeable lead.
A one-lap shoot-out was set up when Jordan Henn spun in the second turn to regroup the pack.
Umbenhauer held the lead until the wave of the checkered to claim the win for the second year in a row on his sponsors? night. Chasing him across were Kressley, K. Gilmore, Whitmoyer and Brian Hirthler, last week?s feature winner. B. Gilmore, Paul Kline, Joe Funk III, Lilick and Miller, Cargo Trailer certificate recipient, completed the top ten.
Miller, Funk III and Dean Bachman won the heats. The consi was won by Jim Housworth.

Brad Arnold led the Modified feature for three laps until Mike Laise charged ahead.
Jockeying for second through fifth in a close knit battle were Arnold, Chris Esposito, Todd Smith and Ryan Grim.
By the Dan?s Deli ?-way mark Laise, setting a rapid pace, approached lap traffic having to use heads-up driving.
Jordan Umbenhauer stopped in the second turn to bring out the yellow on the 19th lap to regroup the field. It was still Laise in control, but by now Esposito, Strunk, Doug Manmiller and Arnold completed the top five.
The red was thrown on the 22nd lap when Duane Howard, moving on the outside was pinched into the homestretch boilerplate by Arnold, turned then took a violent nose dive end over end flip with cars going underneath him piling into Arnold as they had nowhere to go. All involved drivers were uninjured. The cars of Howard and Arnold sustained the most damage with Tim Buckwalter, Jon Kellner and Kyle Borror also heavily damaged and out of action.
When racing went green again Strunk put the Vinny Salerno No. 4* into the lead. The real battle was for second between Laise, who hasn?t been to victory lane since July 9, 2011 and Manmiller, last week?s feature winner. Anticipati