Race Results 07/24/2010

Bechtelsville, Pa. ? Craig Von Dohren continued to be the dominant force with his win record at Grandview Speedway. With five laps to go in the Hatfield Quality Meats sponsored 30-lap NASCAR All-American Racing Series modified feature, Von Dohren overtook second-year racer and leader A.J. DeSantis and went on to claim his seventh Saturday night feature victory of the season at the 1/3-mile oval. Duane Howard moved into second on the 27th lap, but was unable to close in to challenge. Polesitter Jeremy Banos took the early lead and within five laps he opened some daylight leaving A.J. DeSantis, Keith Brightbill, rookie Jordan Umbenhauer and Danny Erb dice for positions. Brightbill took over the runner-up spot on the 10th lap and set sail after Banos.

By the Dan?s Deli 1/2-way hoagie award mark Brightbill was gaining on Banos since lap traffic was coming into the picture. Third through fifth now consisted of A.J. DeSantis, Von Dohren and Umbenhauer with Shawn Reimert trying to get into a top five spot.

Umbenhauer, who was starting to lose positions, brought out the first and only caution when he hit the fourth turn wall on the 19th lap. Banos, who has never won a feature at the track, continued his pace followed by DeSantis, Brightbill, Von Dohren and Mike Gular. The lead changed on the 21st lap when A.J. DeSantis charged to the head of the pack with Von Dohren following through for second at the same time to pressure him.

DeSantis and Von Dohren battled for first for four laps before Von Dohren dove underneath him to put the Felty Farms/Kauffman?s Bar-B-Qued Chicken No. 1C ahead on lap 25.

Behind Von Dohren the battle continued to be between DeSantis, Howard, Gular and Ryan Godown.

Howard took over second on lap 27 and took chase after Von Dohren. The opportunity for anyone to close in on Von Dohren fell short as he went on to chalk up another win. In victory lane Von Dohren gave a lot of praise to his crew for helping him work on the car during the week and keeping it in top condition. Chasing Von Dohren across the line were Howard, A.J. DeSantis, for his season-best finish; Gular and Godown. Rounding out the top ten were Doug Manmiller, in the Breitenstein No. 14; Jason Hamilton, Banos, Jeff Strunk and Kevin Hirthler, who received the Cargo Trailer award.