Race Results 07/25/2015


BECHTELSVILLE, PA. ? Duane Howard and the Petruska No. 66 last visited the winner?s circle at Grandview Speedway on April 18, 2015. Since that time the group fought through a tough May and June. The past two Saturday nights were better for the five time point champion as he finished third and second. It appears that they may have overcome the obstacles that stood in their way. Howard picked an appropriate time to score his third win in the 30-lap T.P. Trailers NASCAR Whelen Modified feature since Atlas Paving, also a sponsor, were the night?s race sponsor. He accomplished the same feat last year when sponsored the activities.

Chuck Schutz, the current Late Model point leader, sidelined from the 25-lap BRC Late Model feature after being involved in an on track accident last week, turned the tables around for a change of luck. In a drag-race to the finish line with Dave Ogin, Schutz beat him by a margin of 0.0554 for his third win of the season.

For the second week in a row Brandon Whitmoyer lost the 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature at the checkered. This time it was Paul ?The Dude? Kline that edged him out in a side-by-side winner take all finish as the pair swapped paint at the finish. It was a tough loss for Whitmoyer as it appeared he was on his way to his first career win at the track only to be denied.

All three feature winners received monetary awards from T.P. Trailers and race products from VP Racing Fuels providing they ran gas and met the necessary requirements.

Mike Bailey overtook Ron Seltmann Jr., a one-time feature winner this year, for first on the third lap of the Modified feature to become the new pacesetter.

Action behind him heated up between Kyle Borror, Seltmann Jr, Todd Smith and Kevin Hirthler. Trying to get into the thick of things were Howard and Meme DeSantis, coming off a win the previous night.

A fourth turn spin by Jamie Speers brought the yellow out on the 12th lap. The restart was void since DeSantis was headed the wrong way in the second turn. The next attempt was null after current point leader Craig Von Dohren found himself going the wrong direction against the backstretch boilerplate and had to be towed back to the pits. Bailey was still in the hot seat when action went green, as these were only restarts, but now second through fifth consisted of Borror, Hirthler, Jeff Strunk and Smith. Frank Cozze and Howard battled for sixth.

Trying to reel Bailey in and claim a fourth win as Hirthler, who was a spectator last week after being sidelined with mechanical issues.

Howard, who started 14th, had the car dialed in and was thankful the track crew prepared the surface in a way to give two lanes and provided three-wide racing using the top line as a preference. He bid his time getting to the front and on the 26th lap Howard emerged into second to give Bailey a run for the money.

One lap later Howard was the new leader leaving Bailey, Hirthler, Strunk and Borror dice for the remaining positions.

Howard never looked back until he pulled into victory lane. Finishing second his best run of the year was Bailey. Coming in for the checkered Strunk inched out Hirthler for third and Hirthler had to settle for fourth despite a disagreement and discussion. Cozze came home fifth. Sixth through tenth were Borror, Don Norris Jr., Doug Manmiller, Jared Umbenhauer and Mike Laise.

Heat winners were Smith, Seltmann Jr. and Nate Christman. Ryan Grim picked up the consi win.

Steve Wilson led the first five laps of the caution-filled Late Model feature before last week?s feature winner Cory Merkel spun in the second turn. After two tried to complete the next lap defending point champion Randy Stoudt was the new leader.

Stoudt?s lead didn?t last long since he spun in the second turn infield relinquishing the lead to teammate Dave Ogin.

Behind Ogin, Wilson, Schutz and Sean Merkel were ensued in a three-way battle for second with Kyle Merkel anticipating a sli