Race Results 08/01/2015


BECHTELSVILLE, PA. ? The racing activities at Grandview Speedway sponsored by WNPV 1440 AM on Saturday night were in a very emotional state with everyone involved bearing heavy hearts.

The evening began paying tribute in the infield to T.P. Trailers NASCAR Whelen Modified driver Mike Bailey, who recently returning to racing behind the wheel of his uncle Dennis and aunt Joanne Bailey?s familiar No. 81. The 39-yr. old Kutztown resident who was a husband, father of three and son of Randy and Donna Bailey, passed away prior to the start of the Modified feature during the Thunder on the Hill show Tuesday, July 28. Mike?s only win at the track was on Father?s Day June 20, 1998 during the twin 35-lap events in which his father Randy, ironically, won the other portion of the show.

The field for the T.P. Trailers NASCAR Whelen Modified feature was paced by Randy Bailey driving the No. 81 and then the field went four abreast and circled the 1/3-mile track because it was a formation that Mike Bailey liked to see.

Defending Modified point champion Jeff Strunk, driving the Zubi?s Racing No. 88, passed Meme DeSantis on the 10th lap restart for the lead and went on to score his second Saturday night victory by a sizeable margin over eventual runner-up Duane Howard, who is erasing the point lead deficient current point leader Craig Von Dohren has built up. Strunk dedicated the win to Mike Bailey, a driver whose friendship he appreciated, and the entire ?Bailey Bunch.?

Chuck Schutz recorded back-to-back victories in the BRC NASCAR Late Model 25-lap feature when he passed Lou Egrie Jr. with three laps to go to put the Ty Zeigler-owned No. ONE in victory lane for the fourth time this year.

NASCAR Sportsman action saw a new face in the winner?s circle. Rookie Mark Kemmerer held off veteran campaigner Ryan Beltz to record his first career win at the track in the 25-lap event.

Mike Bailey?s son Eli was the honorary starter in the Modified feature and Eric Biehn quickly passed polesitter Todd Smith to take command while Kyle Borror, DeSantis and Ray Swinehart tousled for positions.

DeSantis, driving the low groove, advanced to second on the fifth lap to pressure Biehn for the top spot.

The lead changed on the ninth lap restart needed when Ron Haring Jr. and Jamie Speers spun in turn three. DeSantis charged to the front on the restart and by this time 12th-place starter J. Strunk was on the move and followed through for second.

Biehn caused the final caution when he stopped along the homestretch with mechanical problems. This time when action returned to green flag action, J. Strunk emerged as the new leader.

Within no time Strunk checked out and was being chased down by DeSantis, Swinehart, Borror and rookie Jared Umbenhauer. Back further Howard who started 15th, was aiming to break the top five. He managed to storm into fourth on the 15th lap and by the 18th lap he was battling DeSantis for second.

DeSantis and Howard dueled side-by-side for several laps before Howard finally passed him and set sail after Strunk, who was way ahead dealing with some uncooperative lap traffic.

No one was able to close in on Strunk to even attempt to gain control as he pulled into the winner?s circle giving himself an early birthday present coming up August 7. Finishing second was Howard trailed by DeSantis for his season best outing, Von Dohren and Umbenhauer. Borror, Frank Cozze, Doug Manmiller, Danny Erb and Don Norris Jr. completed the top ten.

DeSantis, J. Strunk and Biehn won the heats.

Saturday, August 8 these same drivers plus a host of others will participate in the 45th annual Forrest Rogers Memorial 50-lap Modified feature sponsored by Pioneer Pole Buildings.

Late Model action saw Drew Weisser lead for six laps before he went too high off the fourth turn on the seventh lap restart needed when Wayne Pfeil and Steve Wilson tangled along the backstretch, the same time Randy Stoudt,