Race Results 08/05/2006

Bechtelsville, Pa. ? Five-time former Grandview Speedway modified point champion Craig Von Dohren struggled on occasions during the 2006 season behind the wheel of the BPG Racing/Stauffer Construction No. 1C and had yet to be in the winner?s circle. Since the month of July, the Oley leadfoot seemed to have turned things around and it was only a matter of time before he would be in victory lane.

      Saturday night the wait was over. Von Dohren got by Terry Meitzler on the 42nd lap of the Forrest Rogers Memorial/Stauffer Construction 50-lap NASCAR Dodge Weekly Racing Series modified feature and went on to score his first win of the season in the second biggest race at the track for a $10,000 payday. Danny Erb came on strong the last few laps, but couldn?t overtake Von Dohren and had to settle for a solid second. The triumph made Von Dohren the all-time leading feature winner with 52.

      Cliff Quinn took the early lead at the drop of the green by honorary starter Nikki Stauffer and by the fifth lap he had a comfortable lead built u over Chris Esposito, Jon Kellner Jr., Kyle Weiss and Meitzler.

      Tommy Scheetz Jr. brought out the first caution with six laps completed when he stopped along the backstretch plus there was debris on the track. The lead changed on the restart as now Esposito was in the top spot.

      Mike Gular was on the move as he advanced into the runner-up spot on the eight lap to challenge Esposito for the lead.

      Gular dove underneath Esposito going into the second turn on the ninth lap and by the time the pair came around on the 10th lap Gular was in control.

      Meitzler, who won the event in 1997, overtook the runner-up spot on the 11th circuit and his next quest would be to overtake Gular for the lead.

      Gular took the long way around running the high line while Meitzler stayed low as they battled lap after lap. Behind the two just waiting for a slip-up were Ryan Watt, Weiss and last year?s winner Ray Swinehart with Von Dohren, who started 15th, fast approaching.

      Gular, who never won this race, and Meitzler ran side-by-side for several laps. Meitzler would edge ahead slightly, but that quick Gular had a strong run coming off the turns and stayed in front. Meitzler put the Schaeffer Racing No. 712 into first on the 33rd lap as Gular, Watt, Swinehart and Von Dohren diced for the remaining spots.

      On the 35th lap Watt slowed somewhat and Swinehart left with nowhere to go tangled with him along the homestretch bringing out the yellow on the 35th lap. Watt continued, but Swinehart went pitside with a flat tire and was out of contention. Meitzler kept his pace on the restart, but now the order behind him was comprised of Gular, Von Dohren, Danny Erb and Weiss.

      Von Dohren, a winner of the race in 1996 and 2001, passed Gular for second on the 38th lap and set his sights on Meitzler.

      Kerry Kratz stopped along the boilerplate on the 40th lap causing the yellow to be thrown. Von Dohren got past Meitzler on the restart, but it was brief as Meitzler was back in front the next time around.

      Von Dohren charged back into first on the 42nd lap while Meitzler now had to contend with Danny Erb in a duel for second while Gular and Doug Manmiller were in the wings waiting for a miscue.

      With four laps to go, Erb overtook second and headed towards Von Dohren as he was on a mission.