Race Results 08/15/2015


BECHTELSVILLE, PA. ? Mike Kellner, the Grandview Speedway 2014 Modified rookie, has been having a rather bleak season experiencing his shares of ups and down. Saturday night the sophomore racer turned the tables. Last year Kellner scored his first career win after switching over to the Modified class from the Late Model division where he won 30 features.

Kellner, driving the family-owned No. 57, claimed his second career win on the same weekend this year that he accomplished the feat last year. The win in the TP Trailers NASCAR Whelen Modified feature sponsored by Henning Trains and Henning Motorsports broadcast by RCN TV, Allentown didn?t come easy. Kellner had to deal with lap cars that didn?t heed the move over flag or in-car radio messages, plus an overheating car with five laps to go. ?I was worried about the cars catching me, and the overheating problem, but I just held my line and the win feels great,? commented an elated Kellner in victory lane. He also earned extra monetary prizes from T.P. Trailers and the Dan?s Deli ?-way hoagie award.

Dave Ogin has come close on numerous occasions to winning a 25-lap BRC NASCAR Late Model feature, but always fell short. The Bechtelsville native was finally able to win his first career feature to be the eighth different winner in the division. He had so many people to thank he extended a huge thank-you to everyone that helps him.

Ryan Lilick went off on a tow truck last week, but after three solid days of everyone pitching in to repair the car, the team was ready to go. He made some daring move along the backstretch for the lead and went on to become the fifth repeat winner in the 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature.

Modified action saw Kellner, who started on the pole, maintain the lead at the start, but neither Eric Biehn, Mike Laise, Ryan Grim nor Meme DeSantis gave him breathing room.

Grim, having a solid fourth-place run, was hampered with mechanical problems and slowed in turn three for the one and only caution on lap four. It was still Kellner first, but by now Biehn, DeSantis, Kevin Hirthler and Tim Buckwalter were trying to unseat him. Back further Ray Swinehart, Craig Von Dohren and Doug Manmiller were trying to get into the mix.

Within a few laps Kellner had a sizeable margin built up over his fellow competitors, but the distance began to shrink since he had some difficulty getting past some of the slower traffic that were running the high lane he was rather than move over to the inside lane as instructed by the flagman and radio.

Kellner finally cleared Ron Haring Jr. after several attempts, but by this time the rest did too and closed in. He now had to be concerned with them bearing down on him plus other issues.

Kellner was able to overcome all obstacles and pull into the winner?s circle to be the division?s tenth different winner. Biehn?s runner-up finish was his career best at the track. DeSantis, finally had a change of luck for his best finish since the April opener, followed by Von Dohren and Buckwalter. Hirthler, Swinehart, Duane Howard, Manmiller and Jared Umbenhauer were sixth through tenth.

DeSantis, Howard and Von Dohren won the heats. The consi went to Kyle Borror.

For the second week in a row Drew Weisser was the early leader in the Late Model feature.

Chuck Schutz, the current point leader, slowed along the backstretch with what appeared to be a driveshaft problem since there were debris on the track that brought out the fifth lap caution when he pulled into the infield. Weisser held the lead when action resumed trailed by Lou Egrie Jr., Kyle Merkel, Ogin and Kory Fleming.

Weisser?s chance of victory went up in smoke as the yellow was thrown on lap 12 relinquishing first to Egrie Jr. By the restart it was a three-way battle for first between Egrie Jr., Ogin and Randy Stoudt.

Ogin overtook the lead on the 15th lap restart needed when Bill Henning spun in turn two.

Another victory also eluded Sto