Race Results 08/21/2010

Bechtelsville, Pa. ? Duane Howard, the current Grandview modified point leader, put the Chad Sinon-owned/BPG Racing No. 4 in victory lane for the third straight Saturday night to win his sixth feature of the season at the 1/3-mile oval in the 30-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Racing Series modified feature sponsored by 3-Starz Landscaping.

Mike Laise set the pace for four laps before Meme DeSantis brought out the yellow when he stopped in the second turn. On the restart Jon Kellner Jr., who overtook second the previous lap, charged to the front of the pack followed by Laise, Don Norris Jr., Troy Wink and Jordan Umbenhauer.

Positions were constantly changing behind Kellner Jr., who hasn?t been in victory lane since May 9, 2009, and despite caution periods he held his line.

By the 10th lap, the order behind Kellner Jr. consisted of rookie Jordan Umbenhauer, Craig Von Dohren, Jarrad Miller, another rookie, and Norris Jr. At the conclusion of the Dan?s Deli 1/2-way hoagie mark award with Kellner Jr. still in front, the battle for the remaining positions was hot and heavy between Umbenhauer, Von Dohren, Howard and Miller. Von Dohren took over second on the 18th lap to challenge Kellner Jr. with Howard right behind him in third.

The yellow was out again on the 23rd lap when Laise stopped on the backstretch. The restart was void because of a first turn multi-car incident. On the restart Howard stormed into first to become the new leader. Kellner Jr. went too high and by the time he got recollected Von Dohren and Ryan Godown, coming off a win the previous night at  Big Diamond Raceway, Minersville, were past him.

With Howard now in front, Von Dohren and Godown had their own race for second allowing Howard to distance himself. Kellner Jr. and his dad Jon Kellner dueled for the remaining top five spots.

No one was able to close in on Howard to pressure him and he was in the winner?s circle once again. Chasing him across the line were Von Dohren, Godown a close third, Kellner Jr. and Kellner. Jeff Strunk, Umbenhauer, Danny Erb, John Willman and Billy Pauch Jr., who received the Cargo Trailer award, rounded out the top ten.