Race Results 08/22/2015


BECHTELSVILLE, PA. ? Craig Von Dohren, the Grandview Speedway current point leader, worked his way to the front from his 14th starting grid and was able to overtake Tim Buckwalter on the 22nd lap restart to chalk up his fourth TP Trailers NASCAR Whelen Modified feature on Saturday night. ?The track was a bit tricky tonight, but we have a bunch of good people working on the Bicknell chassis to provide a fast car,? commented the seven-time point champion in victory lane. He also received $250 from T.P. Trailers, $150 in monetary products from V.P. Fuels for running gas and a $600 Ingersoll-Rand Tool Pack from the race sponsor which was also RCN-TV 4 night.

It was a long time coming, but Lou Egrie Jr., who has been knocking on the door in search of a win for the past few weeks, finally led from start to finish in the 25-lap BRC NASCAR Late Model feature. He held off runner-up Dan Green?s challenges to claim his first-ever career win in the division.

Brad Brightbill, winless since August 29, 2013 at the track, wrestled the lead away from Steve Young on the 13th lap and kept two-time winner and second place finisher Paul Kline behind him to pull the Savage L&B No. 29G into the winner?s circle for his first win of the season in the 25-lap NASCAR Sportsman feature.

Modified action saw Bobby Gunther-Walsh charge past polesitter Glenn Owens and into the lead at the drop of the green from starter Rick Kemp and immediately began opening daylight.

Owens managed to reel Gunther-Walsh in on the seventh lap with Todd Smith, Kyle Weiss and Buckwalter in tow.

Buckwalter was on the move and by the 15th lap he advanced to second to pressure Gunther-Walsh.

A leader change occurred on the 16th lap as now Buckwalter was at the head of the pack.

The battle for positions behind Buckwalter was hot and heavy between Gunther-Walsh, Smith, Von Dohren and Frank Cozze and neither one lifted.

Von Dohren moved into second on lap 18 and his next mission was to pass Buckwalter and go on to win without an incident.

On the 22nd lap Doug Manmiller and Jared Umbenhauer hooked in the fourth turn and they continued before they finally stopped in the second turn to bring out the yellow. Miraculously via the aid of the in car radio and quick reactions no more cars were involved. Unfortunately Duane Howard, who was ninth at the time, stopped in the first turn with mechanical issues and had to be towed to the pits never to return. It was a huge hit in the points for Howard since he was 106 points behind Von Dohren when the night started and now there is a 372 point difference with two point shows remaining. Umbenhauer was also through for the night, but Manmiller was able to continue.

When action resumed Von Dohren put the Pioneer Pole Buildings/K.L. Harring Transportation sponsored mount in the lead while Buckwalter, Cozze, Jeff Strunk and Weiss jockeyed for second through fifth. Billy Pauch Jr. was right there trying to get into the mix.

Von Dohren never faltered and garnere4d his 94th Saturday night career win. Strunk managed to get by Buckwalter at the line and pick up second with Buckwalter, third; Cozze, fourth and Weiss, fifth. Sixth through tenth were Pauch Jr, Danny Erb, Kevin Hirthler, Mike Gular and Ray Swinehart.

Eric Biehn, Von Dohren and Ryan Kunkle won the heats. The consi went to Erb.

John Willman is the new chauffeur of the Dennis Bailey owned No. 81 vacated by the untimely passing of Mike Bailey.

The Late Model feature early leader was Egrie Jr. trailed by Kyle Merkel, Rick Todorow, Steve Gross and Green.

With four laps completed, current point leader Chuck Schutz got turned sideways in the third turn causing a multi-car tangle bringing out the yellow. After pit stops and involved were able to continue. The restart was null after Devin Frey hit the third turn wall and was out of competition. Egrie Jr. maintained the lead on next attempt with challengers now comprised of Merkel, Todor