Race Results 09/03/2005


Bechtelsville, Pa. ? The previous Saturday night at Grandview Speedway, Ryan Watt took a wild ride in the third turn with his car sustaining heavy damage which meant several hours of work were ahead of him and the crew. The extra overtime paid off for Watt as he overtook Jason Smythe, the leader since the initial green, on the 25th lap and went on to post his first win of the season in the 30-lap NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series modified feature. The event, the final point race, was sponsored by BPG/Chad Sinon Motorsports, who also helps Watt in the engine department.
      Jeff Strunk, who finished fourth, was crowned the 2005 NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series modified point champion for the third straight year with BPG/Chad Sinon Motorsports and his fifth overall.
      At the drop of the green by starter Ray Kemp, Jason Smythe was off and running followed by Sean Merkel, Ed Scott, Greg Humlhanz and Donny Erb, another driver that worked several hours getting his car back in shape as he was also involved in the third turn accident last week.
      Meme DeSantis brought out the yellow on the fifth lap when he spun in the second  turn with Craig Von Dohren, Jon Kellner, Jeff Strunk and John Willman also  involved. All drivers were able to continue. The leader was still Smythe on the restart, but now Scott overtook the runner-up spot to pressure him.
      The red had to be thrown on the seventh lap when Cliff Quinn flipped several times between the first and second turn. He was slightly shaken and his car sustained heavy damage.
      When action went green again it was Smythe, Scott, Merkel, Danny Erb and  Watt, who was on the move from his 22nd starting spot. Terry Meitzler slowed his pace along the homestretch on the 15th lap and as soon as the yellow was thrown he quickly went pit side.   When he came back out he was sent into the pits for bringing out an intentional yellow. Smythe continued his pace on the restart with Merkel now in the runner-up position followed by Watt, Kenny Gilmore and Scott.
      On the 22nd lap Keith Brightbill, who started 31st by using a provisional and worked his way into sixth, was spun in the fourth turn. Getting caught up in the mishap was Doug Manmiller. Ray Swinehart was placed to the back of the pack for initiating the incident. The restart was void when Merkel found himself facing the wrong direction in the third turn. Tom Mayberry was also involved along with Jimmy Reppert. All three were eliminated.
      Smythe was still in front with Watt giving him a run for the money allowing no room for an error. Smythe was able to hold off Watt?s constant challenges until the 25th lap when he went a little too high in the first turn and Watt got underneath him to become the new leader.
      While Watt showed the way, the battle for the remaining positions brewed between Smythe, Gilmore, Strunk and Scott.
      Positions behind Watt changed somewhat, but he never gave up the lead and went on to post his second career win at the track. Falling short again, but having a strong run was Smythe with Gilmore, who also had a good finish; Strunk and Kevin Hartnett completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Kellner, Scott, Von Dohren, Danny Erb and Mike Gular, who used a provisional start driving Glenn Owens? car.
      Tracy Readinger, Danny Erb, Meitzler, Greg Humlhanz and Strunk won the heats. The consies went to Hartnett, Ryan Watt and John Tschudy. Humlhanz won the 3-lap Cheers Tavern Cash Dash worth $500.