Race Results 09/14/2013

Strunk Nets $25,000+ Payday In BPG Racing Freedom 76 Victory
at Grandview BY Vicki Gehris

Bechtelsville, PA – Jeff Strunk, the defending BPG Racing Freedom 76 winner,
took the lead at the drop of the green and held off early challenges from Rick
Laubach, Mike Gular, Ryan Watt and eventual runner-up Meme DeSantis to win his
fifth Freedom 76-lap Modified feature. Strunk received $25,000 plus lap money
for the win in addition to special awards from VP Racing Fuels, TP Trailers and
Dan’s Deli.

???? Through the luck of the drew Rick
Laubach started on the pole, but it was Strunk that charged from fourth into
first at the start to put the Vinny Salerno-owned No. 4* at the head of the
35-car starting grid.

???? Eric Biehn brought out the first
yellow when he slowed in the second turn. Laubach relinquished second before
the restart when he went pitside out of the race. Strunk maintained first with
Gular now second trailed by Watt, Doug Manmiller and Billy Pauch Jr.

???? Watt overtook second on the fifth
lap restart brought out when Stew Friesen stopped in the fourth turn and was
out of competition.

???? Strunk built up a comfortable
margin by the 12th lap, but through the aid of lap traffic, Watt reeled him in
by the 17th lap to give him a run for the money.

???? Strunk stayed in the high lane
while Watt made several bids on the inside trek, but wasn’t able to unseat him.

???? Craig Von Dohren, the 2013
Grandview NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Modified point champion brought out
the next caution on the 25th lap when he spun in the first turn after making
contact with the infield tire. He had to be towed back to the pits out of
competition. The restart was null when Pauch Jr., running third, spun with Doug
Manmiller, fifth-place runner at the time of the mishap also being involved.
Pauch Jr. was through for the remainder of the event, but after a quick pit
stop Manmiller rejoined the action. The leader continued to be Strunk when the
race resumed followed by Watt, Gular, DeSantis and Billy Pauch,.

???? By?half-way the order behind
Strunk consisted of Watt, DeSantis, Gular and Pauch, who started third, 16th,
fifth and 18th respectively. Trying to get into the top five were 21st- and
24th-place starters Ryan Godown and Duane Howard.

???? Jordan ?Umbenhauer stopped
with a flat tire for the next yellow on lap 43. It was at this time a mandatory
fuel stop was called.

???? After completion of the stop and
they got back to racing Strunk continued to show the way around the 1/3-mile
oval – a place he’s familiar to after winning the point title nine times; while
Watt, DeSantis, Godown and Gular battled for?second through fifth. Howard
advanced to fifth on the 45th lap and was on the move.

???? Don Norris Jr. hit the wall between
the first and second turn with heavy impact for the 48th lap caution. He was
uninjured, but the car was badly damaged. Behind Strunk by this restart were
DeSantis, Godown, Howard and Watt.

???? Pauch, a six-time winner of the
prestigious event, stopped along the homestretch with a flat tire for the lap
52 yellow. He made a quick pit stop and was back out. Debris in the third turn
nixed the next try, but Strunk was still first when the race restarted.

???? At this point DeSantis and Howard
battled intensely for second to see if either one could overtake Strunk, who
along with the front runners, had to deal with the lap traffic.

???? No one was able to overtake Strunk
and he pulled into victory lane for his second win of the season. Chasing him
across the line were DeSantis, Howard, recipient of the Bobby Gunther-Walsh and
sponsors Hard Charger award; Godown and Watt. Sixth through tenth were Danny
Johnson, Jared Umbenhauer, the 2013 Grandview Sportsman point champion; Gular,
Glenn Strunk and Manmiller.

???? The seven 12-lap heat races were
won by Watt, Kenny Gilmore, Keith Hoffman, M. DeSantis, Manmiller, Godown and