Race Results 09/19/2015

Von Dohren Nets $25,000+ Payday In 5th Freedom 76 Victory at Grandview

BECHTELSVILLE, PA. ~ For the second time in his racing career at Grandview Speedway, Craig Von Dohren scored a three-peat. In 2006 he won the Forrest Rogers Memorial, the Freedom 76 and was the track point champion. Saturday night the Oley speedster repeated the same accomplishment.

The newly crowned champion earned $25,000 for the win, plus over $500 in lap money. The victory didn?t come easy as he dueled with Billy Pauch, Duane Howard and Jeff Strunk throughout the race and finally close runner-up Billy Pauch Jr. along with dicing through heavy lap traffic. He also received the Dan?s Deli ?-way hoagie award.

Through the luck of the draw, Billy Pauch started on the pole and set the pace for the 32-car lineup for two laps before Kevin Hirthler spun in the fourth turn for the caution. On the restart Von Dohren, third-place starter, shot to the outside coming off the second turn to move into the lead.

It didn?t take Von Dohren long to outdistance himself leaving father Pauch and son Billy Jr. jockey for second while Jimmy Horton and Danny Erb completed the top five. Ryan Watt, seventh-place starter, soon joined the thick of the battle.

John Willman stopped along the homestretch for the 19th lap caution. Von Dohren continued his dominance, by but now second through fifth consisted of Pauch, Howard, who started 16th; Pauch Jr. and Watt.
Howard cleared Pauch on the 24th lap and took chase after Von Dohren, already encountering lap traffic as they were racing for positions as well.

On the 35th lap Ryan Godown hit the guardrail which slowed his momentum. Pauch coming full steam made contact and the two tangled in the fourth turn. Godown, not happy with the turn of events, refired and drove into Pauch not once, but twice, to show his displeasure. This continued with neither one giving up and both were disqualified for their auctions. At the same time a mandatory fuel stop brought out the red.

The restart lined up with Von Dohren, Howard, defending race winner Stewart Friesen, who worked his way up from 15th; Horton and Strunk, who started deep in the pack in 27th. Von Dohren moved the Nick Gatto powered car out quickly as he knew the others behind him had the same incentive in mind ? win the race.
A three-way battle for the lead ensued by lap 50 between Von Dohren, Howard and Friesen with Strunk closing quickly.

Andy Bachetti, John Willman and Ryan Grim spun in the first turn as the front runners bore down on them bringing out the 59th lap caution. Von Dohren and Strunk, who moved into second on lap 58, got by, however Friesen wasn?t as fortunate and he made contact. Friesen was through for the night towed back to the pits out of contention. Howard, who had fallen to fourth, pitted with a flat tire, but after a quick pit stop rejoined the race. On the restart Von Dohren maintained the lead on the high line with Strunk brying to get by on the inside.

On the 66th lap Von Dohren on the outside and Strunk trying a run one groove higher yet made contact along the homestretch. Von Dohren said he saw Strunk on the outside of him, but at the time he was committed and they hit.

The final yellow was on the 68th lap when Horton and Doug Manmiller tangled in the second turn. Manmiller was put the rear for the incident. Before the restart Strunk had to pit with a flat tire and was able to rejoin the race.

It was still Von Dohren in front on the restart trailed by Pauch Jr., Ray Swinehart, Kenny Gilmore and Howard who was coming back to the front strong.

Von Dohren kept the competition behind and pulled into the winner?s circle for his fifth win of the season followed by Pauch Jr., Swinehart, Howard and Gilmore. Rounding out the top ten were Tommy Scheetz III, Erb, Frank Cozze, who received the $581 Bobby Gunther-Walsh Hard Charger award in memory of Mike Bailey; Strunk and Rick Laubach.

The Don Schaeffer Racing Minuteman