BECHTELSVILLE, PA ~?Since 2000 only Jeff Strunk and Craig VonDohren have been able to win NASCAR All American Series Modified championships at Grandview Speedway. Strunk has won eight titles while VonDohren has two titles (2001 and 2006) since then. However VonDohren has a total of six titles including 1988, 1989, 1990 and 1992.
?The two drivers have pretty much dominated the NASCAR Modifieds at the Berks County oval. VonDohren has 70 career wins while Strunk has 52. The win figures do not include events won in the special Thunder on the Hill Series run at the speedway.
?In the NASCAR Late Models Randy Stoudt has been the big winner in recent years and now has 51 feature victories to his credit. With a strong season in 2010 Stoudt could pass Jon Kellner Sr. who has held the career win mark in Late Models for many years with 58. Kellner no longer competes in the Late Model division. Despite all those wins Stoudt has only been able to claim a championship once and that came back in 2003. He is hoping to capture the title in 2010.
?Interest is building for the 2010 season as the free-to-the-public practice session is set for Saturday, March 27th at noon. Racers from all divisions are invited to participate in the final shake down runs before the season officially opens.
?Then on Saturday, April 3, 7 p.m. the NASCAR All American Series Modifieds along with the Late Models kick off the 49th season of stock car racing competition on the one-third-mile, clay banked oval.
?A 40-lap championship event for the Modifieds will be presented on Saturday, April 10th. The Late Models will be a part of that night of racing action starting at 7 p.m.
?It goes without saying that Strunk, the 2009 champion, and VonDohren will be in the thick of the battle for the lucrative point championships (both the track title and the NASCAR title) and Stoudt will be trying to put his name on the championship trophy in the Late Models. However there are many racers looking to push Strunk, VonDohren and Stoudt right out of the championship picture.
?Duane Howard, who won the last of his three Modified titles in 1997, will be looking to capture the crown. Others looking to grab the Modified title include Meme DeSantis, past champion Terry Meitzler, Kevin Hirthler, Mike Gular, Billy Pauch Jr., Jason Hamilton, John Willman, Danny Heiber and a host of others.
?Ryan Godown is expected to return to action at Grandview in a new ride. The 2009 Forrest Rogers Memorial winner would be considered a strong threat for the title.
?In the Late Models Brian Shuey will be going after his second straight title and third overall. Kyle Merkel, Wayne Pfeil Jr., Mike Kellner, Danny Snyder, Rick Todorow, Nate Christman and past champion Chuck Schutz are just a few of the Late Model talents expected to chase the championship.
?The 2010 NEETS Enduro season will kick off at Grandview Speedway on Sunday, April 11th at 2 p.m. The SpeedSTRS will be a part of that show.
?Complete information on the 2010 season at Grandview Speedway can be had at
?For information on low cost event sponsorship, track magazine advertising and great billboard opportunities contact Ernie Saxton at 215.752.7797 or e-mail him at
?The track is located on Passmore Road, just off Route 100 in Bechtelsville, just 10 miles north of Pottstown, PA. Telephone 610.754.7688.
?MEDIA NOTE: The deadline for season media credentials is March 15. Please be in touch if you are planning to be with us on a regular basis in 2010. Thank you for your consideration. Ernie Saxton