KUTZTOWN, PA November 10, 2007 . . . As is usual a large crowd, close to 400 people,  turned out to honor the 2007 champions and other outstanding performers at the 45th annual Grandview Speedway Awards Banquet on Saturday at the Kutztown, PA Fire Hall.
 For the sixth time in his career Mohnton, PA?s Jeff Strunk was able to walk off with the NASCAR Whelen All American Modified stock car championship at the Bechtelsville, PA.  And for the first time in his long career Brian Shuey, Shoemakersville, PA, was able to win the NASCAR Late Model championship.
 Both championships were decided on the final night of the NASCAR stock car racing season on the one-third-mile, banked clay oval. Duane Howard won the 30-lap feature race on the final night with Jeff Strunk finishing second. However when the points were tallied Strunk had edged Howard by just ONE POINT to win his sixth championship.
 Strunk and the Glen Hynemann owned Gold Rush Custom Trailers No. 126 Modified earned 4934 points with five feature wins while Howard and the Chad Sinon owned No. 4 tallied six wins and 4933 points. It was the closest point battle in the 45-year track history.
 The Late Model point battle also went down to the final night with Randy Stoudt looking to win his second title. He won the final feature but lost out for the title as Brian Shuey driving the Charlotte and David Eyrich owned Bob Fisher Chevy No. 5 late model edged him out by just five points on that final night.
 Shuey tallied 4939 points to win his first championship. It was also a first title for the car owners.
 The champions were honored with huge trophies (over six foot tall), custom championship rings, thousands of dollars in both track and NASCAR point fund money along with NASCAR awards and beautiful custom created photographs courtesy of Don Marks photos.
 In the NASCAR Modified division of competition the special award winners were:
Rookie of the Year – Jason Hamilton
Most Improved Driver – Brad Missimer
Hard Luck Driver – Kyle Weiss
Best Appearing Car – Ryan Grim?s M&D Motorsports #17
Best Appearing Crew – Jeff Strunk and the Gold Rush Custom Trailers #126
Sportsmanship Award – Bobby Gunther Walsh
Best Newcomer – Marc Fehr
 In the NASCAR Late Model division of competition the special award winners were:
Rookie of the Year – Bryon Sipe
Most Improved Driver – Wayne Pfeil
Hard Luck Driver – Rick Todorow
Best Appearing Car – Brian Shuey and the Bob Fisher Chevy #5
Best Appearing Crew – Chuck Schutz and the Maverick?s Motorcycle #One
Sportsmanship Award – Greg Hoffmaster
Best Newcomer – Eric Kauffman


 Special appreciation awards were presented to THP as sponsors of the Freedom 76, Stauffer Construction as sponsors of the Forrest Rogers Memorial and Jeff D?Ambrosio Dodge as providers of the track pace vehicle.
 Several members of the media were in attendance and received appreciation gifts from Bruce and Theresa Rogers, operators of Grandview Speedway.
 The Grandview Groove track magazine Most Popular Driver Awards went to Sean Merkel in the Modifieds and Mike Kellner in the Late Models. These awards are based on the vote of the fans.
 NASCAR had awards for the top three finishers in each division. Champion Jeff Strunk, Duane Howard and Terry Meitzler received the NASCAR awards in the Modified division while champion Brian Shuey, Randy Stoudt and Ron Kline were the recipients in the Late Model division.
 Scott Schaeffer was honored as the Craftsman Tools Mechanic of the Year at Grandview.
 A special award, presented by Ernie and Marilyn Saxton each year, is the Jerry Glase Memorial Award. It is presented in honor the long time track employee who was Ernie?s right hand man in the announcer?s booth. This year the award was presented to Bruce and The