KUTZTOWN, PA December 16, 2006 . . . For the sixth time in a career that covers more than 25 years of stock car racing Craig VonDohren was honored as the NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series Modified stock car champion at Grandview Speedway. And for the third time Chuck Schutz took home the top honors as the NASCAR Late Model champion.
 A huge turnout was on hand for the 44th annual Grandview Speedway Awards Banquet held at the Kutztown, PA Fire Hall Saturday night.
 VonDohren and car owner Chad Sinon picked up $10,000 for the track championship. In addition the Oley, PA racer picked up approximately $9,000 more in NASCAR divisional and track title money. VonDohren also picked up his sixth custom championship ring, a trophy that stands more than six feet tall, a beautiful photo from Don Marks photography and other awards.
 The veteran racer earned the title with the BPG Racing/Chad Sinon Motorsports/Stauffer Construction No. 1c Modified winning four features and tallying 3530 points. VonDohren was able to win the Stauffer Construction Forrest Rogers Memorial and the T.H.Properties Freedom 76 earning more than $30,000 in prize money just for those two victories.
 Car owner Sinon has announced his retirement from the sport as a car owner. VonDohren is currently seeking a ride for the 2007 season so that he can try for a seventh title. VonDohren is also the all time leader in Modified feature wins tabbing 55 victories.
 Finishing second to VonDohren, in a close battle for the title, was Doug Manmiller (Wyomissing) who tallied 3477 counters and had one feature win. Meme DeSantis (Temple) grabbed third with 3186 points and one main event victory.
 Chuck Schutz (Pottstown) took his third career title in a close battle with Randy Stoudt (Pottstown) tabbing two wins and earning 4300 points. The wins came in the two biggest events of the season for the Late Models, the Firecracker 40 and the Jerry Glase/Chuck Sennott Memorial.
 Schutz?s car owner Ty Zeigler shared the championship awards as he fielded the BPG Racing No. One Late Model entry.
 Stoudt was able to win seven feature events but had to settle for second spot with the Chris Hudak owned TP Trailers No.22 tabbing 4231 points. Finishing third was Bower Beach, Delaware?s Harry Neiman with 3981 points.
 Ryan Grim took the Rookie of the Year award in the NASCAR Modifieds while Steve Swinehart took the Most Improved Award. Swinehart finished 48th in points in 2005 and moved to 17 spot in 2006. Danny Erb took the Hard Luck Award and the Best Newcomer Award went to Mike Laise. The Sportsmanship Award went to veteran racer John Willman. Cliff Quinn earned the Best Appearing Award with his Channel 69 News entry. Dennis Bailey and the Berks Products No. 81 crew took the Best Dressed Crew honors.
 Kyle Merkel, younger brother of Modified ace Sean Merkel, took the Rookie of the Year honors in the NASCAR Late Model division. Dan Keely improved 11 positions in the final point standings to grab the Improved Driver honors. Steve Sennott earned the Hard Luck Award, while Wayne Pfeil was named the Best Newcomer. Greg Hoffmaster took home the Sportsmanship Award. The BPG Racing No. One Late Model driven by Chuck Schutz earned Best Appearing honors while the Best Appearing Crew Award went to the Bill Henning No. 80 team.
 NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series Marketing Coordinator Kevin Nevalainen presented awards to the top three finishers in both the Late Models and Modifieds.
 Wilmer Weiss, chief mechanic for Kyle Weiss, was the Division Mechanic of the Year picking up $2,500, a Craftsman tool chest, a trip for two to the NASCAR Awards banquet in Las Vegas and spending money for the trip.
 The Jerry Glase Memorial, presented by Marilyn and Ernie Saxton, went to Modified racer Bobby Gunther Walsh for his sportsmanship, charity work and support of the sport.